Would you like to go back?


I’ve had times when I longed for times past, hung up on fond memories.  Truth is though…and I’ve learned this well in life…you can’t go back.  You can only go forward.  You can try, but it’ll never be the same, and the only way to get anywhere at all is to go forward, not backward.

I guess what brought this line of thinking on is a funeral I went to this morning with my daughter.  It was for a dear, wonderful man who touched a lot of lives.  We saw people there that we haven’t seen in a very long time.  I met a Facebook friend there who I’d never met in person, too.  Turned out she had also known Ed for a really long time.

Anyway, I got to thinking about how short life can be, though Ed lived a lot of years.  But none of us knows when our time will come.  Sometimes it comes quickly, with no warning.  Sometimes it’s after a long illness when the end of that kind of suffering is quite welcome.  But it’s a point at which we all will reach someday.  Maybe for me it will be tonight, or tomorrow.  Maybe it will be 20 or 30 years from now.  I don’t know any more than most of us know.  But what I do know is that when my time comes and I meet my Lord, I hope He won’t find me dragging my feet, looking longingly at what’s behind me.  I hope instead, I’ll be right there in the moment that’s happening, and moving forward with a smile on my face.

Oh don’t get me wrong.  I will still reminisce from time to time.  I’ll still cherish moments reuniting with old friends and loved ones. I will relish moments when we can move ahead together.  It’s different than what we sometimes have a tendency to do though…when we try to recreate feelings and moments that are gone.  And anyway, it seems to me that we sometimes recall moments much better than what they actually were. 🙂

In any case, I realized I haven’t been here for about a week.  It’s been a busy week.  Glad to be poking in again, and hope you’re all well.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in journal, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Would you like to go back?

  1. Like you … I sometimes reminisce about the past and the children being young etc… but I wouldn’t want to do it all over… Each season is meant to be… and I we are meant to move forward… Diane

  2. jonahzsong says:

    Anne, I like the way you said, ” I hope instead, I’ll be right there in the moment that’s happening, and moving forward with a smile on my face.”

    There have been too many moments in my life in which I’ve longed to return to a junction, a fork that I have taken and now think was a wrong turn. I think of how I could have made a different choice, avoided heart ache or hurt, to myself and to others. Pointless thinking, really, unless it helps me prepare for forks in the road ahead. So, for today by the Grace of G-d I am who I am. Lord willing tomorrow I will be who He makes of me. I, too, want to move forward with a smile on my face,

    Lord Bless, Keep, Shine. . . Wil Robinson

Leave a Reply

