Do you know Christ?


You may respond, “I was born and raised as a Christian.”  You may say, “I’ve been to church every Sunday, serve as a deacon and on committees, go to Sunday school and Bible study every week, and I know every crack and corner of my church.”  Maybe you’ll tell me, “I attended Bible college.  I’m a Biblical scholar and know the Bible inside out.”  I want to tell you…not one of those things means you know Christ.  James 2:19 says, You believe that God is one; you do well. Even the demons believe—and shudder!

So is it about some sort of perfection within us?  Heavens no!! Romans 3:22b-25a – For there is no distinction: for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith.  

So what is it, then? This: When you give Christ permission to occupy every crack and corner of you…you know Christ.  It is not about going to church.  It’s not even about merely believing with your mind…or even about knowing the Scriptures.  It’s about having invited him to be the Lord of your life so that the Scriptures are alive within you when you read them…the Holy Spirit is present within you.  Being a Christian is not just about some set of beliefs or practices.  It’s more than that, and yet complicated?  No.  So easy. 

Matthew 11:27-30 – “All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.  Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

If you do not know Christ in that way, I pray with every fiber of my being that you will.  You need only pray and invite him to be Lord of your life.  Confess that you are a sinner and that you believe he died on the cross and rose again for you…to pay the penalty for your sins, and commit your life to him.  Really commit your life to him…not just to go to church every Sunday or to go through some sort of motions, but to let the Holy Spirit into your life to guide and comfort you.  You will not regret it.

I truly believe we are living in the last days.  No, I can’t give you a date and time. Some people say they can…but they’re wrong.  Jesus doesn’t even know.  In Matthew 24:36, Jesus says, “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.” But all throughout the Bible there are things to look for that indicate the time is nearing.  Those things are coming to pass like I’ve never seen before.  And even if it doesn’t happen in your lifetime…when your life is over, you will be faced with the consequences of your decision to follow…or not.  But your choice will mean your eternity. 

Romans 14:11  “As I live, says the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God.” And Revelation 1:7 – “Behold, he is coming with the clouds, and every eye will see him, even those who pierced him, and all tribes of the earth will wail on account of him. Even so. Amen.

In the meantime, while I wait either for his return or for him to take me home, I can no longer even conceive of spending my days here without him.  I would not go back to life before for anything you could offer me. 

Philippians 1:21 “For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.”

John 3

Ephesians 3:14-21

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

