Grace…and grace


Grace February 10-2015

I’ve been kind of quiet today.  I’ve been doing a lot of reading blogs on here, and it’s been wonderful.  I’ve come across some really good things, from old friends and new ones on here.  If I’ve liked something on yours and haven’t commented, it’s just that today, I’m sort of stuttering on words in my head.  So don’t feel bad.  Believe me, there will probably be times when you’ll wish you could make me be quiet! 🙂

Grace is home from school today.  That’s a fairly recent pic above of her now-13 year old self. She sure has grown!  Anyway, she just got up about a half hour ago.  I was kind of worried about her, but she seems to be feeling better, and is in the living room now watching television.  I got to think about Grace though…and about ‘grace’.

I could go through a list of a ton of trials I’ve been through in my life…and I have probably done so far too many times.  I could go through a list of things I’d like to have…and again…I’m sure I’ve done that more than I should too.  Philippians 4:12 says, “I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.” (ESV)  That’s true in my life.  I still think about things that have happened or that I’m going through.  I still have things that I would like.  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that.  They’re things I can pray about, and that God cares about.  But I am much more content now.  I can’t say I have that perfected…but the secret of contentment is the knowledge of God’s grace throughout whatever comes…trusting him.

I can look at my granddaughter Grace, in fact, and see God’s grace in the midst of that time that she was born…going on 14 years ago now.  What a horrible period of time that was in our lives.  So much intense pain going on at the time.  Yet, her name was absolutely perfect for my daughter to choose.  She truly was an example of God’s grace that held us together during a time when my first husband, her grandfather, had just suddenly died.  Her mother, my youngest child, almost died after her birth due to complications.  5 days after we buried David was the infamous 9/11.  A lot was going on at that time, needless to say.

I guess my point is that life as a Christian is not easy.  One of the things that bothers me sometimes is when people say things that make it sound like it is.  Jesus said in John 16:33 (paraphrasing a bit) that in the world we’re going to have trouble, but to be of good cheer…he has overcome the world.  I think sometimes new Christians have been fed just the gushy parts that make them think if they come to Christ, all their problems will go away.  It’s just not true.  All you have to do is look around in the news today to see that…Christians being beheaded, having businesses shut down because of death threats and hate…simply because they are trying to faithfully follow Christ.  And in John 15:18-19, Jesus addressed that hatred too: “If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.

Still, there is no way I would trade life in Christ for all the love of the world, all the money and possessions…good health…whatever.  I’ve said it before and will say it again and again.  Life in Christ is better, in that regard.  It’s better, because as long as we seek to do what he says and live by the spirit and not the flesh…as long as we look to him and not to the problems…as long as we remember like it says in Romans 8:28 that all things will work together for good to those who love the Lord and are called together for his purpose, we can be at peace. 

“You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.” –Isaiah 26:3

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. ” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Love and blessings,
Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Family, Life, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grace…and grace

  1. How grown up she looks… and of course beautiful… Diane

Leave a Reply

