After 3 A.M. and I’m still up


This is not a good idea.  I’m supposed to get up at 5, and as I look at the time on the computer, it’s 3:11 already.  But some days are like that.  Or some nights.  I have been reading some of your blogs, and just having some quiet time.  I know I had some very profound thoughts just a little while ago.  Should’ve made a note of them, because I can’t remember them now.  If’ they’re really all that important as I thought they were at the time, I will recall them at a later time…or God will give them to someone else who will share them in a more timely fashion.  He does that sometimes, you know?  I have had things I felt very led to share, but I put them off.  Then I would see someone else share the same thing.  We are unique.  We are loved.  We are valued by our God.  But we are not indispensable down here.  🙂

It’s been nice going through some blogs…some old ones and some new ones.  There have been some that I can’t find, or that no longer seem to exist, or that like I have been over the last couple of years, the author of the blog is absent for some reason.  And there are others I simply have not gotten to yet.  I will.  I’m so glad to be back here.  Problems with the ‘like’ button aside, I sort of feel like I’ve returned home.  After all, I spent a whole lot of time here for awhile.  I got to know some of you pretty well, and then, like a wayward child, I took off and didn’t write home…didn’t call. 

We’re like that with the Lord so often, you know?  We take off on our own paths and get busy…seem to put him kind of on the back burner, or in some corner where we toss him a brief ‘hello’ from time to time, but don’t really sit down in his presence.  We don’t really talk to him…listen to him…read the word and really pray.  I’ve been like that lately, and I’m feeling it.  I vow to make that change and return to regular daily one on one time with God as my #1 priority…as it should be.

Good night, or good morning as the case may be. 🙂  And as always, with love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Faith, journal, Life, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to After 3 A.M. and I’m still up

  1. Katie says:

    Good morning to new dawn. 8)

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Hi Katie! Thank you, and good morning to you. 🙂 I managed to catch a couple of hours of sleep and get the grass watered, then take my granddaughter safely to school and have pretty much guzzled a cup of coffee. 🙂 I will take a little nap this afternoon, I think…have a long day ahead. Will try to get some things done this morning. Then tonight, I’m going to bed at a reasonable hour!! 😀

  2. Hi again… If there is any particular blog you’re looking for there’s a chance they’ve changed it They may have opened a new one or changed their name… You can ask me and I might know…or email me if you like to ask…. it’s a new email as I was hacked on the old one last year…. Diane It’s writerwannabe763@gmail.com

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thanks Diane! Will do that later when I’m not so tired. There have been several. I know I used to have a different blog a long time ago too, and abandoned that one and started this one. But I started this one what…2012? May have been 2011. Would have to go back and look.

  3. just thinking at least I try from time to time… People who do NOT have a wordpress site, cannot post a comment or ‘like’ . The can post a comment if they use their email address if it is a choice to do so, but not ‘like’ . … Perhaps if you’ve been away for a certain length of time they didn’t recognize you as a wp blogger? Just a thought. If I see anything pertaining to this… I’ll let you know… Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I was actually thinking the same thing, since I’m having trouble following blogs from their site as well, and just a little bit ago I tried to comment on a blog and was prompted to enter my email and website. It asked me for my password and then acted like it was wrong. I can follow, comment, or like from my notifications and from the reader, but when I enter my email address it gives me an error message saying to enter a valid email address. It’s the same one I use to log in, and the same one where my notifications are coming. Although when I first was trying to get a password reset sent to me, I never was getting it, so it must’ve been going somewhere else. I guess I need to contact WordPress again with this problem and see if I can get it sorted out. At least it’s working to a degree, anyway. I’m so tired at the moment I think I’ll wait until I’m a little more clear headed and send them a message to see if I can get this sorted out and get full use of the site again as it’s supposed to be. Thank you, Diane. 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I just went back and looked at that blog I had trouble commenting from. The second time I tried logging in, the prompting had disappeared, but my comment didn’t show up. It’s there now though. Maybe I should try the like from the blogs and see if that’s corrected too. Guess I shouldn’t have stayed away so long. LOL I didn’t want to abandon this blog like I did the other one, because I invested a whole lot of time, and it contains so much of my life in my thoughts, my faith walk, photo shop art that I did, poetry, and just conversations with friends on here through all of that time. Some of the people from the blog are on my Facebook, and two of them are ones whose blog has not been touched in awhile, so I can ask them about that. Another one was really close to one of the people whose blog I frequented, so i can see if she knows what happened to the other blogger. There are a couple that I’ve tried to access and get a stern warning from McAfee not to go there, so haven’t done so. There are a few more that I tried to access but can’t seem to access their blogs from their gravatar sites. All of this will take some time, I guess. 🙂

      • Anne Sikes says:

        Nope…just checked and the ‘like’ still doesn’t work from the blog itself.

      • Them comment that disappeared is likely because the blogger has the setting… that comment must be approved…
        Some bloggers don’t connect their gravatar to their blog site but you could likely find it by putting the blog name’s url like mine https://hometogo232.wordpress.com Anyway I know you don’t want to do all this till you have time… just for whenever you do…. Diane

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Thanks, Diane! Yes, better do it later. I have to go clean my kitchen and try to lie down for a bit before I have to go get my granddaughter this afternoon. 🙂

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Well, I believe the problem is with my browser. Maybe it doesn’t support the new changes. I was able to log in with Internet Explorer, but had to use the classic format to do so. Once I was in there, I was able to go to a blog page and ‘like’ it without a problem. I’ll have to get my son to help me later when he has time. Might not be today, but at least I know where the problem lies. 🙂

  4. Anne Sikes says:

    Thanks, Oyia! 🙂 I got a good night’s rest, by the way. Much better today.

  5. Anne Sikes says:

    I liked my own post here? LOL…didn’t do it on purpose.

Leave a Reply

