Politics, Religion, Opinion, and Respect


I think there are a couple of things that would make life a lot more pleasant for ourselves as well as others, as individuals.  One is if we could understand that it’s okay, and feel the freedom to state our beliefs or opinions, knowing that sometimes maybe we’re right, sometimes maybe we’re wrong, but it’s our opinion or belief and it’s perfectly okay to state it.

The other is to understand the same thing in reverse…to still care for and respect individuals who believe or think something differently, and to understand that they also should have the right and privilege to speak out about whatever it is they want to.

I’ve gotten a lot better about not getting upset (not always, but mostly, I think) when people disagree with me…even harshly.  But it was a long time in coming.  I used to keep silent a lot of the time unless I knew that my audience was an agreeable one.  Not so anymore, in case you haven’t noticed. 🙂  I still argue my side too much and too long sometimes, but even that, I’ve gotten better about.  Mostly, I don’t get offended or hurt anymore, if people get angry at me for my views/beliefs.  I still do sometimes, but I’ve improved a lot on that I think.

We’re a mixed culture of people across this globe.  We see things through different eyes…eyes that have seen a lot of various things, and from different perspectives.  I think understanding that is the first key to mutually respecting everyone with their differences, regardless of what they are.

In the end, I admit that I like getting along with everyone…or I ‘would’ like that.  But I also know it’s not possible unless I do refrain from telling people what I think…unless I strive to just be a ‘people pleaser’. But living that way…that’s dishonest.  Withholding the truth of what I believe or think is not fair to myself or to others.  If you know who I am, you can either accept or reject that based on the facts.  If I hold back so that you will like, or approve of me, that’s just silly. 🙂

Any thoughts?

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, Opinions, Politics, Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Politics, Religion, Opinion, and Respect

  1. prewitt1970 says:

    I agree, it has taken me many years of practice to become ok with being wrong. The only thing I still can’t get past is ignorance or intolerance. We are one people one world. This coming from someone who actually has surprisingly conservative views. I will hold the hand and exhalt any human willing to do the same out off mutual respect of human life and equality for all people’s great or small. I usually don’t share religious or political views but I liked your piece. Be well.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you! I appreciate your comment. People get so angry…it destroys family relationships, marriages, friendships so often with some of the differences and intolerance for those difference…the inability really to see that it’s okay if someone disagrees with you, and doesn’t make them the bad guy. 🙂 Thanks again…and have a great week!

  2. SwittersB says:

    The caveat to all this feel good…we are all one…global cheer leading I read so often is one word…liberty. Many of the cheerleaders for the Egyptian Spring are now silent or off to the next global feel good moment. Don’t look now, but the Muslim Brotherhood is beheading folks there now. Silence? There were plenty being rudely opinionated back then but they were silenced for spoiling the party…the feel good party. I have a loud voice and it is to counter act the never ending blitzing to guilt me into submission over saying anything against the PC minded sheep’s feel good agenda. If that offends…I really don’t give a damn because I am watching that..what was it?…Liberty slip away to Big Bro, Nanny and this stupid obsession with global BS. Honor liberty, diversity, tolerance HERE! Be an example HERE! And, dear lady, I said all that with a smile…bet you didn’t think so did you? The written word is so misleading isn’t it? I am less offended by someone outspoken, then by a media agenda to sway our thinking to conform to silly notions. Maybe I really should live on a ranch up a holler like my kids say? 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      LOL…I’m with you about living in a ranch up a holler, for sure. And I also say a lot of what I do (however strongly stated) with a smile and no anger in me…the written word definitely can lack revealing the heart, or spirit, behind the words.

      I also agree about being fed up about political correctness…people fearing accusations of racism if they speak out. It’s funny…was thinking about how if I say I don’t like Obama, some tell me that I must be racist. But if I share something that a person of color says against him, I’m using that person’s color as some sort of token or something…lol. Can’t win for losing. Truth is…if you tell me I can’t ‘dislike’ a person because of the color of their skin, that’s racist on the person’s part who’s saying it. If you tell me also that I can’t truly ‘like’ something a person of color says on its own merit, that opinion is also the one that is the racist view. 🙂 But all that, in my opinion, is diversionary tactics, at least in large part. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  3. I’ve enjoyed both the post and the comments. Thank you!
    I think we are doing a disservice to our children by not teaching them debate skills. I truly believe we would be in a lot better shape if we could all calmly and intellectually discuss our ideas … but I also think the media (and possibly those driving it) would rather have us stirred up into the frothing masses that we have sadly become.

    In the South, where I am, we were brought up to never discuss politics or religion. Know why? Conflict avoidance, of course.

    Talk about teaching girls to keep their mouths shut! Boo. Hiss.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I understand that SO well, Melissa. As the youngest and only girl child in my family, growing up in Texas myself, I was also raised to be sweet and pretty and play the piano well…in my particular case anyway. 🙂 I wasn’t expected to be smart, and didn’t think I was for a very long time. I’m not speaking of my teachers…just of the basic attitude that I somehow was given, which probably had a large amount to do with the fact that my mother always seemed to think and behave like men were superior. But that was an old school thing I think in part, because of the era she was from.

      Ha ha…I remember once about 10 or 20 years ago or something, writing a letter to the editor to my hometown newspaper, in rebuttal to one that my brother had written. It was of a political nature too. I remember Mom had bragged about the wonderful letter my brother had written, but she was absolutely horrified about mine. LOL…how could I contradict my brother, and in public no less! 🙂

      Anyway, I very much agree with you that we need to be able to talk about things peacefully, and that the media and politicians thrive on keeping us divided and feeding into that division in many ways. It’s frustrating.

      I largely avoid talking politics, but I think it’s so important to speak out that sometimes I have to just speak my mind. And in the school I’m attending, we’re warned against talking about politics, religion or sex. Ha ha…I talk about all of them. But I’ve always been a rebellious sort, even when I didn’t exercise that rebellion ‘quite’ as much. It was there, just waiting to burst forth! Ha ha! Thanks for your comment!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      That would’ve had to have been 20 years ago or more about that letter to the editor I mentioned, by the way. Mom passed away 12 years ago.

Leave a Reply

