Candy Fountain (Ethereal Asparagus) Poetry Challenge


Candy Fountain (Ethereal Asparagus)
by Anne Sikes

Here are the poems that were submitted in the Poetry Challenge.  As I said in my other post, they all were tied, but I wanted to share them with you.  I’ll go ahead and include mine, which wasn’t up for voting, but just because I can. 🙂  Thanks to Eunice and Maggie for your wonderful poems! 🙂

Candy Fountain

by Anne Sikes

What a lovely thing it would be

To have a fountain that’s made of candy

Colorful sprinkles of pure sweet delight

Delicious to taste and a beautiful sight

 

But fountains are known for their sweet soothing sound

A candy one might jingle, clatter, and pound

You’d have to decide if it’s worth all the din

In my own opinion, it might do me in.

Candy Fountain
by Eunice (Nuts for Treasure)

It stands in the center of the room
It has Chocolate cascading down from the top.
We fill our plate with goodies, to coat in this melted delight.
I can tell by all the faces in line, they hope this NEVER stops.

While the Candy Fountain flows, everyone is having such fun.
Can it really be all that melted Chocolate that has everyone wanting some
Seems it doesn’t take much to make us forget our woes
Just a Candy Fountain, with melted Chocolate, to make us smile from our
lips to our toes.

Candy Fountain
by Maggie

A candy fountain? Really? That’s a joke.
You must be kidding. Would an English bloke
believe there’s such a fancy thing? Would Queen
Elizabeth find tastes of candy keen?
Come now. You’re toying with reality.
Those minty drops and chocolate rivers, free
to me? I couldn’t help but to indulge…
but I’d best be prepared. They’d make me bulge!

Ethereal Asparagus
by Maggie

Ethereal asparagus exists
in abstract paintings or on artists’ lists
of fresh ideas. I have painted all
I know, and need now an original
new thought. Asparagus upon a back-
ground purple, turquoise-blue, and black –
Aha, that’s it. My fellow artists would
not think asparagus could taste this good.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Fun, Games, Name That Abstract, Photography, Photoshop, Poetry, Poetry Challenges, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Candy Fountain (Ethereal Asparagus) Poetry Challenge

  1. Pingback: Candy Fountain (Ethereal Asparagus) Poetry Challenge « 4writersandreaders

  2. Thanks I take photos and Maggie writes you can clearly see the difference but my goodies we YUMMY lol thanks for the challenge

    • Anne Sikes says:

      LOL…Yes, you’re a photographer, extraordinaire, and Maggie’s a fine wordsmith, but I appreciate every poem you contribute. 🙂 I hope you will keep doing it!!

      • You are so funny 🙂
        Mine are far from poems 🙂
        I have lived a life that used to be so magical and then NOT SO MUCH I lost the ability to see anything except in Stark White Light 😦 Funny how one can have those Rose Colored glasses so working for her then I saw him for what he truly was and now life will never be that way again but my man loves the REAL me though at times since I loved him when I was 14 I bet he misses that pretty blonde dumb girl with her head in the clouds lol I did make a Million in 10 years but after taxes and expenses with rig I had some fun too but A real job might have been better than the rat race I so loved between ex and life and hard mans work for so long I lost me just now getting pieces of who I used to be BACK

        I love the challenges but see my words come right out like photos do I see the prompt and there I go no thinking no writing it first so sadly it shows but I do love doing them 🙂

        I guess you could call me CUT AND DRY 🙂 Honest to a fault too 🙂

Leave a Reply

