Memories, and moving on


There are people who touch our lives in some way…some who are with us through years, and others for short periods of times.  Sometimes they exit our lives either through death, or other times, through decisions made to leave.

I was thinking of this this morning, on this day that marks 11 years since David had a brain aneurysm and left us.  David was my husband, the father of my 3 children, and we spent many years together and many memories.  I have moved on since his departure.  But I still recall him especially on days like today, or his birthday, or our wedding anniversary.

When people leave, we have to go on.  We can’t just stop.  Sometimes we’d like to…sometimes we may wish we could make a permanent exit, because the departure is painful.  But we eventually realize that we can’t.  We still have lives that must be lived.

Is it okay to sort of memorialize people, and spend a little time dwelling on their memory at times?  I think so.  I don’t think it’s okay if we sort of put ourselves in some holding pattern…dwell so much that we aren’t remembering that today’s a new day full of potential memories of their own…know what I mean?

I think of David from time to time.  I think of my parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles or friends.  I think of Ted often too, and and miss him…remember the times we shared.  Of course, Ted, and some of the others are not gone completely from my life…just gone in the sense that they’re not here in the same way.  But I don’t think that God places people in our lives so that when they’re gone for whatever reason, we just cease to recall them.  But I do think that He desires for us to continue on.

Anyway, life does go on.  I am grateful for all the people who have touched my life.  Today, I’m grateful for David, who I shared most of my adult life with, and who gave me my children and now my granddaughter Grace.  And I think of how blessed I am today, this day with all the people still in my life and all the ones still to meet along the journey ahead.  And I’m thankful.

Family (2 Acrostic Poems)

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Family, journal, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Memories, and moving on

  1. faithfulnibbles says:

    Beautifully said.

  2. prewitt1970 says:

    Best wishes to you on this day, may life be kind to you and fill your heart with joy and peace. I to have lost so many of the people I have loved in my life and everyday their memories give me strength when I am weak and peace when I am alone.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comment. How true your words are, and how beautifully said. I agree…the memories become strengths in ways that they were once weaknesses, perhaps. 🙂 Blessings to you! ♥

  3. SwittersB says:

    Yes, it is right. I do believe they watch over in some way and do want us to carry on ever wiser and braver. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      You’re welcome…and thank you for your comment. 🙂 It’s funny how it works…bitter tears become bittersweet memories and with time, eventually sweeter and less bitter. 🙂

  4. I really believe that when you love someone, you never really stop loving them.

  5. Pingback: Memories, and moving on « velcronotstrings

Leave a Reply

