Facades


This is another repost from back on April 10th, only since I’ve already reposted it before, I don’t know how to do it again, because that option’s not available.  So I figured I’d just copy and paste the poem in here.  It was originally a challenge from my dear friend Skye to write a poem about facades.  As it turns out, it’s one of my personal favorites of the poems that I’ve written and also just kind of fits with some things in my own life that I was thinking about.

Oh, and the eyes at the top belong to Skye’s daughter Dianna too, from a picture taken about 5 years ago.

Facades

by Anne Sikes

 

I saw her smile a crooked smile

as she so often did

Her voice was bubbly, laughter wild

The sadness inside, hid.

 

I had to look behind the face

She wanted to appear

I had to look behind the eyes

And then I saw it clear.

 

The broken heart she tried to hide

The restless heart within

The pain inside her deep and wide

Though hid behind a grin.

 

I saw him walk inside the bar

A burly, tough old bloke.

He looked right past the bartender

And just said, “Rum and coke.”

 

I watched him closely as he sat

And had himself a few

Our eyes met and I smiled and asked,

“Hello there, how are you?”

 

He smiled a crooked, tough old smile,

And looked me in the eye.

“What’s it to you?”,  sarcastically,

Was his only reply.

 

I had to look behind the eyes

But when I did, I saw

Much more than what he would have liked,

A pain so deep and raw.

 

I left the bar, and walking home

I thought about those two

I thought about my own facades

That I try to show you.

 

Why can’t we just be who we are?

Why can’t we feel the pain?

Why do we have to try to hide?

What, really, do we gain?

Original post

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Poetry Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Facades

  1. Skye says:

    I love this poem too, and not just because I suggested the subject! 😀 🙂

  2. Lindy Lee says:

    Ego protection for fear of judgment…

Leave a Reply

