Would Easy Street really be such a good place to be?


I think sometimes when I’m going through struggles or trials, or when the world around us seems to be full of discord and unrest, how nice it would be if everything was just going along smoothly…no hurdles to jump over…no detours or road blocks.  But really, would it?

One of the things I do when I’m in down time like I am now, with this crummy cold I have, among other things, is that I think a lot.  And by now, if you’re a follower or have been my friend long enough, you know that about me without me saying it.  Well, tonight I got to thinking about that life on Easy Street that I’m yearning for in ways.  Sure…it would be nice in ways.  Like having plenty of money for example…paying the bills when they come in and being able to go visit family that I long to see…being able to travel across the world to places that I’ve longed for years to see…having a nice home and car, etc.

Then I got to thinking about athletes, like the ones competing in the Olympics right now.  Their road to the Olympics was not Easy Street.  They worked hard, sweated, ached, cried at times I’m sure…failed sometimes.  And the payoff to all that sweat and hard work is a nice gold medal, or silver or bronze even.  Or even just the glory of competing in this world competition, I think is a payoff in itself.

It’s the same with being a musician.  I don’t play much anymore…hardly ever sing at all.  And when I do, I sound rather lousy.  My voice is weak and out of shape.  If I pull out my keyboard to play, it sounds okay just to play, and I haven’t lost my ability to do so.  But if I was to try to play the classical music, there would be no way I could do it.  I’m out of shape and practice.  It would take me hours to sit and work hard to be able to get back in shape again in that regard. 

Those are a couple of examples, but really it’s true of anything in life.  We have difficulties and hurdles and long, winding, mountainous, treacherous roads to travel at times.  We’re bound to get tired sometimes and to want to lie down and quit.  But if we don’t quit, we get strong.  We learn and grow and become better.  So then, I choose to be thankful for the long, winding road with scary lions and tigers and bears (oh my!) sometimes. 🙂  I’ll face those things and keep going. 

I know a lot of you are going through some really tough things right now.  My heart goes out to you, and my prayers are with you through it.  But in the end, I hope that you can find a way to be thankful in the midst of this training time you’re going through…whatever it is…and that you come out with the gold medal in the end. 🙂

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Would Easy Street really be such a good place to be?

  1. You’re right that if we always lived on ‘easy street’ we would not learn and grow and most of all learn to trust in the Lord and not in ourselves only. My hope for you is that you start to feel better physically and emotionally. When you are, maybe you’ll feel like playing your piano more because I know you would love to do that. Feel better my friend…Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thanks Diane. I hope to eventually get the piano out of storage and in here…and hope it will still be okay when that happens. It’s been in storage for a few years now…temp. controlled storage, but still. I have a lightweight keyboard that I don’t have a stand for…either set it on the ottoman or on my lap to play sometimes. It’s not exactly ideal, but it works sometimes for a little bit.

  2. If we were always on easy street, we would soon become discontented. I love the concept of impermanence – everything is transient, so, the bad times will change – nothing lasts forever.
    It is humbling to think that without us even realising it, friends often have us in their thoughts 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I’ve thought of that before too…I have people just pop into my mind and heart sometimes myself. It happened a few weeks ago with a particular person, and I was in the middle of doing some things and couldn’t call them…but it was just a real strong feeling on my heart about the person. So I just prayed for them…and sometimes I think that’s what we’re supposed to do when that happens anyway. Thanks Alex…always love your comments. ♥

      • Aw thank you – likewise-
        I agree, the same this happens for me too – sometimes it is amazing how when we talk to that person, something significant was happening for them on that day 🙂
        I also like to call friends and acquaintances to mind and recall and reflect on their good qualities. (It also works for people I’m finding difficult – it can put things into perspective.)
        😀

        I’m trying to catch up with peoples blogs and finding it difficult to keep up – everyone is so prolific!
        😀

        • Anne Sikes says:

          🙂 I haven’t been able to keep up with reading blogs in awhile now. Finally let myself off the hook and just accepted that it’s how it is at the moment and I hope others understand.

          That’s good that you can think of the good things about people that are harder to deal with. I try doing that too…and hope others who think I’m difficult somehow will do it with me too, to be honest. LOL I very rarely will write people off as just being people I can’t tolerate though. We all have our personalities and quirks and some people are just more pleasant than others…and others, it’s just a matter of not ‘clicking’ with that person really, I think. 🙂

          • So true – also we never know what is going on for them.

            Going off topic slightly – well a lot actually! Have you noticed the stats have significantly dropped since WP changed the scroll down system?
            Also – on my stats page I have a big blank gap at the to of my page and the comments don’t always work – do you experience the same?

            xx

            • Anne Sikes says:

              I have noticed the stats going way down, both on my page and on 20 lines a day. But I haven’t been writing as much as a rule as for my page, and I figured with the Olympics going on, maybe people aren’t on here so much right now. Not sure about the changes you’re talking about…with the scroll down system, or the big blank gap either. I haven’t noticed those things. Things don’t always work as well as others on here though. Sometimes I do have trouble loading a comment or other notification to see it. I had some fellow bloggers tell me awhile back that they had stopped getting email notifications about my blogs, and I didn’t know why…so that had explained why my stats had gone down as much as they had. I never did figure out what that problem was caused by.

              I do hope it gets straight soon though, for you! Have you checked on the WordPress forum to see if anyone else was having those problems?

            • Ah – forum – good idea!
              The scroll down thingy – before, you had to click on each individual posting in order to ‘like’ – but now you can scroll down the main page and like multiples of postings without having to click on the individual posting page (I think??!) It saves time, but reduces the stats (maybe it is wishful thinking as to why the numbers are dropping!)
              🙂
              xx

            • Anne Sikes says:

              Ah! Okay…I have noticed that’s possible to do, and it does make sense that stats have gone down as a result. I even think some people click on ‘like’ without actually reading the whole things as a result. 🙂

            • Ah yes – that is why I am so behind on my reading !! Lol 🙂

  3. Lindy Lee says:

    Easy Street certainly has an easy to look at view…

Leave a Reply

