Food for Thought


First of all, let me say that this post is absolutely not meant as a judgment on anyone.  People I know have a variety of varying beliefs about this.  It’s just some questions…some things I’ve thought about as a Christian, and a sinner saved by grace, and it is questions that I specifically am directing toward fellow Christians.

First of all, what does ‘grace’ mean?  Is it just meant for something God gives to us…to forgive us when we sin…but that we don’t have to extend to others?  And are some sins worse than others, or is sin just sin?

What would you do if an openly gay couple showed up at your church one Sunday morning?  How would you react?  Would they be welcome?  What about if they wanted to serve in the church somehow?  Would that reaction be different than if a heterosexual couple who was openly living together outside of marriage come to your church, or wanted to serve within some ministry there?  What about a married couple who you knew that one of them was having an affair with someone else?  Which ones of the above would you actually be willing to invite to your church?

Would you be more upset about a gay couple living next door to you than an unmarried heterosexual couple…or even say…a man who had a lot of female overnight visitors?  Would you maybe even laugh or joke about the latter…but be outraged about the former?

What if your child came to you and said that he/she was gay?  Would your reaction to that be more devastated than if your son said he was moving in with his girlfriend, or daughter was moving in with her boyfriend? 

Like the title says, these questions are only intended as food for thought.  It’s not judgment…it’s not even about knowing that my own thoughts about all of this are absolutely, 100% correct.  And you don’t even have to answer…but just maybe think about it, pray about it and search for the Biblical answers.  I can say that I have done that…tearfully over the loss of a friendship some years back.  I know that I do NOT have all the answers.  But I am confident in how I respond to these questions, in regard to what God showed me in my quest for the answers all those years ago.  That’s all that I can do, or that any of us can do.

Love and blessings,

Anne

 

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Opinions, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food for Thought

  1. wilmoth7Beth says:

    It would be a problem for anyone wanting to serve in church that was living in sin and it was known. We are all sinners but as Christians we are not to be controlled by it nor live in a lifestyle of it.

  2. Pink Ninjabi says:

    excellent questions for all to consider 🙂

  3. I won’t answer each question but I will say that I’ve learned sin is sin and before I point a finger or treat someone badly whose sin is perhaps more obvious that others I will remember I am also a sinner saved by grace….Diane

Leave a Reply

