I Don’t Care


I don’t care what you believe

Who you may love, how you perceive

The world around and what it means

If you eat meat, or only greens

                                I want to see you deep inside

                                Those things that you may try to hide

                                Because you fear if people knew

                                There’s no way that they could love you

Not that I always see the best

Sometimes my judgment needs a rest

Or better, thrown out far away

I’m far from perfect, need I say?

                                But please don’t ask me to pretend

                                Or not be honest to the end

                                To be someone that I am not

                                And hope that I will not get caught

Inside my web…secrets and lies

That my heart feels, but mouth denies

That’s not who I will ever be

Like it or not, I must be me.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in 20 Lines A Day: An Exercise in Discipline, Opinions, Poetry, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Don’t Care

  1. howanxious says:

    “I must be me”- No pretense, No false personifications- That is what the world needs today!
    Amazing work, Anne! 🙂

  2. Lindy Lee says:

    As Felix Unger said in The Odd Couple, “We are what we are.” …

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Did he? It’s been so long since I’ve seen that movie I didn’t remember that. 🙂 But it’s true…you can try to stuff it somewhere in the recesses and not let people see…but it won’t go anywhere.

Leave a Reply

