Silence


It’s quiet here this afternoon

I hear the sound of the fan blowing beside me

Keeping me cool in the summer heat

I hear the sound of the keys clicking as I type these words

Not quite sure what word will be coming next

In my mind, I hear the sound of my Pastor’s voice

giving the sermon and reading the scripture passages

I hear the sound of the laughter and greetings

Of each of us there this morning

The worship music led by the band

Words sung with feeling by the congregation

Even hearing the hopes…the sorrows and fears…and thankfulness

Of the individual voices lifted in song

Somewhere deep inside my soul

I hear the sound of deep longings that abide within me

Struggles, desires, mistakes, questions, goals

And then the sound of my Abba, saying

“Be still, and know that I am God.”

It’s amazing what one hears in the silence

Shhh…listen

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in 20 Lines A Day: An Exercise in Discipline, Christianity, Faith, Poetry, Random Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Silence

  1. cindyhfrench says:

    oh Anne, just beautiful. I know exactly where you were-how you felt everything. You pulled me right into that day. YOU ARE SO RIGHT. WE FORGET TO BE STILL AND KNOW THAT HE IS GOD- much less listen to what He has to say.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thanks Cindy! I have actually gotten to where I leave the television off and really relish the quiet times a lot now. I used to play the tv or music all day and night, just for noise. But when I’m around people, I still tend to talk too much sometimes. Need to work on that. 🙂 It’s in the quiet times when we truly do ‘hear’ the most.

Leave a Reply

