Winner of Name That Abstract #9 and new Poetry Challenge!


The winner of the Name That Abstract #9 is Timzauto, with 4 votes for his name, Astounding Assemblage. 🙂  Congratulations again Tim! And thank you to all who participated!

For the new Poetry Challenge, come up with a poem of any length or style, titled “Astounding Assemblage”, and post it in the comments below.  Favorites are voted on by clicking the ‘thumbs up’ above the submitted poems.  Please have your submissions in by Wednesday at noon.  I think I’ll go back to just making the entire thing last one week, new ones coming out on Saturdays when I usually have more time to do this. 🙂  So on Wednesday, the submissions will close for voting only, and then new winner will be announced one week from today.

And as usual, here’s my poem to start you off.  This week I went with a simple haiku (mainly because I didn’t get my poem written early enough…lol)

 

Astounding Assemblage
by Anne Sikes

Astounding Assemblage

Your artwork, my Lord

Intricately woven world

Astounding, indeed

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Art, Faith, Name That Abstract, Photography, Photoshop, Poetry, Poetry Challenges, Writing, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Winner of Name That Abstract #9 and new Poetry Challenge!

  1. Anne Sikes says:

    For the Challenge
    Posted on July 21, 2012 by Maggie

    http://anexerciseindiscipline.wordpress.com/2012/07/21/for-the-challenge/#comment-5451

    Astounding Assemblage

    Astounding the assemblage, auto parts,
    tools, tires, all sorts of mismatched, unused things.
    How odd the memory this junkyard brings:
    Am I someone unloved, cast off, whose heart’s

    desire is simple? Give me daily bread,
    and in the giving, share your kindness. Touch
    me at my depth. I fear there isn’t much
    to me, that what my father, back then, said:

    “Nothing but skin and bones, a skeleton,”
    is true. He spoke about my weight, but all
    I heard was “Nothing,” and I took a fall
    in confidence. Then he and I were done.

    Well, so it seemed. Relationship of rocks
    made pleasing him impossible. I tried.
    O, did I try…but couldn’t. Yes, I cried
    so often, wondering about the clocks

    that seemed to stop. We didn’t talk for years.
    2009 lung cancer claimed him. We
    both wrote, so had fun sharing poetry.
    I wonder still if he knew all my fears.

    Astounding the assemblage, parts of life
    that color where we go and what we do.
    I want to hear a songbird sing, dove coo,
    instead, sometimes, hear dissonance of strife.

  2. timzauto says:

    Astounding Assemblage

    It was so smooth to the touch
    built with talent , patience and such
    a family prize , passed down with pride
    it was sleek , fast , a dream ride
    astounding assemblage indeed
    had every thing our baby needs
    this carriage was a century old
    smoothly down streets it rolled
    the time will come sooner or later
    I wait for the day we pass it to daughter.

  3. Pingback: Astounding Assemblage | Poet's Corner

  4. Pingback: Extensions again on the challenges | My Life Uncut…Almost

  5. Astounding Assemblage

    I was new at this
    I had no idea where to start
    All I felt I could do was wish
    To become the best by following my heart.

    I went up and down the rows
    going through the astounding assemblage of colored beads
    Can I really make this, who knows
    who knew they would be called seeds.

    So seed beads come in different sizes from tiny to even smaller
    Did I tell you she had so many to choose from
    I did not know how many times I would need to call her
    I hate learning something new, it seems to always make me feel dumb

    So with a few classes under my belt
    I begin to bead with abandon
    I pricked my finger so many times there is now a constant welt
    Time to get my BLUE TRAY out and for me to lay my astounding assemblage of beads on!

    Eunice
    nutsfortreasure

  6. Pingback: Time to vote for this week’s challenges!! | My Life Uncut…Almost

  7. Pingback: Winner of the Poetry Challenge is… | My Life Uncut…Almost

Leave a Reply

