Nice people


I was thinking, the only way to never offend anyone is to never really have an opinion, or a strong belief on anything…just to basically agree with everyone all the time.  But even then…I mean, even if you never spoke and just smiled all the time, someone would probably be offended somehow by your silence. 🙂

Someone made a comment about me being nice recently.  Then someone else said, “Yes, bless her heart…she’s so nice…” something like that.  It was in joking I think…no harm meant.  But there you go…what’s my offense to it?  I did (silently) sort of take a bit of offense to the tone of the statement/joke whatever it was.  I was thinking, “So, being nice is something that makes you weak or something?  That makes you someone to say, ‘Bless your heart’ to?”  I didn’t say it out loud, because I’m too nice. LOL…actually I would’ve said something out loud, but it was just a sort of chatty, random conversation that quickly turned to something else.

I’d like for everyone to like me.  I admit it.  I’m that kind of person who doesn’t want to be tough and big and bad, or whatever.  Oh, there have been ‘moments in time’, so to speak, where I tried to be big and bad and tough.  But I’m just not.  And that’s okay.  But I’m okay just being who I am.  And the ‘niceness’ that was being joked about in that random, chatty conversation, is genuine.  I’m not fake.  I will tell people what I think…if I think it’s necessary to do so.  And I can have a temper.  Ha ha…there are those who would readily admit that it exists.  But honestly…I’m working on taming that temper, and am thankful I’m better about it. (Lord, please don’t send me a test in this!) 🙂

So…I guess these are just some random thoughts this morning.  Have a great day pondering their complexities. (he he!)

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in journal, Making Fun of Me, Opinions, Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Nice people

  1. Life is a TEST and you have passed to this point, so I am sure the rest of this life you have will get you more A’s

  2. timzauto says:

    Anne do you think the lack of emotion in a text message or on here Instant message sometimes makes us take the meaning wrong . It’s hard to speak with others and not see them, their facial expressions . Just being in different parts of the world , people speak differently and with the abstinence of this emotion makes us take offence . You are an awesome person and I think we all know it …I thank the lord for putting you in my path for me to learn from . I hope this finds you well, and please have an awesome day…Bless you ..Tim

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Yes, sometimes I’m not sure how to take messages, and other times I hope mine will be construed rightly too. It is very hard on here…absence of eye contact and facial expressions, tone of voice, etc. A quick comment doesn’t necessarily mean lack of emotion at all, but you’re right that it can seem that way. And thank you!! I’m thankful for you too Tim. I’m very impressed with you, in your…I hesitate to say ‘struggles’…but they are, I think…but in your efforts to stay clean. This outlet is a wonderful sort of therapeutic one, and even though the online friendships are sort of weird…not really knowing each other, they’re very much a blessing. (And now I’m going to worry about that statement and whether it came out right…lol.) 😀 And bless you right back!!

Leave a Reply

