The Truth


I want you to know

I want you to see

But I cannot do it, ’cause He made you free

I tell you a truth

Of all that I know

But still, you reject it, say facts I must show

You say it’s not fair

It’s simply unjust

To have to believe, to say that you must

You say that I’m cruel

Or not very smart

I once was like you, ’til He changed my heart

Arrogant?  No

Nor judge of your soul

No claim to perfection, no heart black as coal

Love is the reason

I want you to see

Believing’s not bondage, it’s what sets you free

~~~~~

The truth rejected

Does not change it to be false

Seek and you will find

Into the Light
by Anne Sikes

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in 20 Lines A Day: An Exercise in Discipline, Christianity, Faith, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Truth

  1. pbaileysau says:

    Wow, good writing. I want to respond with more but you have left me speechless – not many people can claim this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

