More than that


I’m enjoying my classes very much in school.  I’m blessed with wonderful instructors who not only are knowledgeable, but also enthusiastic, and also make learning all this stuff fun, and the other students with whom there’s a wonderful comaraderie, I’m just really revved about doing this.  I look forward to working in a field where I can help others feel better.

Oh sure, at times it’s overwhelming, with all the Latin and Greek names of the bones and muscles.  We haven’t really gone much beyond the bones and muscles yet in my class.  I’m in Musculoskeletal Anatomy (MSA) right now, which will continue to go more in depth as we go along, but later we’ll have Anatomy and Physiology (A & P) class and there will be more.  Still, for purposes of massage school, it won’t be as in depth as other medical fields.  But it’s very interesting.

We watched part of a video of a cadaver being dissected last week, and I was a little freaked about that at first, I admit.  But it was actually very helpful to see, rather than just drawings and diagrams.  Last night we watched another video, showing sections of the skull, since we’re currently learning the head, neck and face.

But the point of this isn’t really how awesome my class is.  It’s that all of this just confirms to me the presence of a great design of all of it.  Not that I needed confirmation, but it just makes me all the more enthusiastic to have the confirmation in this way. The way all of the muscles and bones attach, and the nerves and blood vessels and all of the organs…the way it all works together and performs various functions in such awesome detail…it’s truly amazing to me.  And then you take that body made up of skin and bones and muscles and various intricacies, and you look at it alive, with a personality complete with little quirks…sound effects, etc. 🙂  More than amazing!  But when that person’s life is over, it’s like the light goes out.  You can visibly see the difference.  We are more than that…more than just all those interwoven parts of our bodies.  And when we die, something leaves.  People are not just skin and bones.  We are spirits.  The body dies eventually, but the spirit does not…it just leaves that ‘casing’ that it occupied for awhile.

Working in any field where you will be dealing with people who have different beliefs and backgrounds, we’re always cautioned to leave politics, religion (and sex) out of any discussion with clients or potential clients.  That’s good advice.  But I cannot leave it out entirely.  Politics…sure.  Sex…definitely.  But my faith…it’s who I am, and as I said, all this scientific knowledge only confirms that.  This profession is designed to help peoples’ bodies…to make people feel better or correct, or help things that go wrong.  But I see it as helping the spirit too.  Touch alone helps the spirit.

In any case, I am truly thankful, and very enthused about this whole thing.  I find myself wanting more knowledge…wanting to take it even further.  BUT…one thing at a time.  And now it’s more coffee, some good time with Grace who should be up soon, and who wants to work on some sort of project today, and then back to the books at least a bit.  I studied for a couple of hours after class last night though, so I’m not hitting those books too hard today.  I’m going to have fun with my granddaughter. 🙂

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Fun, journal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More than that

  1. Portia says:

    What a beautiful post! I love the bit where you write about how the body looks so different before and after the spirit has left. I really do think that we, these souls, are beautiful through and through. That is why I believe it is vital that we let as much of our souls shine forth as possible. Just our soul presence is enough to transform the world into an ever more beautiful place.

  2. Chrystal says:

    Just the little bit I know about our bodies confirms to me, also, that it was all intentional and complicated!

  3. I’m glad you’re finding it challenging and interesting…Enjoy your time with Gracie..and then hit the books…lol…Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      🙂 I’m taking a bit of a break at the moment now. Got out a little early tonight. Then I have to study some for that test tomorrow. Class went well tonight. Thanks Diane! Nice to see you post your poem too, on the poetry challenge!

Leave a Reply

