Friday Night


Another Friday the 13th is coming to a close, and as usual, it’s been a good one.  Gracie gets home tomorrow, and I can’t wait to hug her neck! 🙂 School’s going well.  I’m loving it.  We did watch a video last night of a human cadaver being dissected though.  Those who know me, know that I don’t deal well with gorey movies. 🙂  But after I got over the initial ‘yuck’ factor, it was actually very interesting and helpful, being able to get a better picture of where things are and what they look like.  We have 3 exams next week though. Crunch time!

As for tonight, just hung up from a nice long conversation with my son Tommy, and I’m tired after a long day…but in a good way. I’m also very excited because Traci found my VCR tape of some of my favorite Jimmy Stewart movies…”You Can’t Take It With You” and “Harvey”.  “Bell, Book and Candle” is on it too, with J.S. and Kim Novak, featuring Jack Lemmon and Elsa Lanchester too.  I think that’s supposedly the movie that the series “Bewitched” was based on.  Hope the tape still plays good, because my plan is to kick back and enjoy one of them, anyway.  You Can’t Take It With You is my favorite, but Harvey is first on the tape, so I’ll probably go with that one. 🙂

I have lots to do tomorrow before Grace comes home too.  Jen’s pet sitting this weekend and Traci will be working, so it’ll be me and Marley the cat here getting things ready for our sweetie’s arrival home.  I think I’ll make some peach cobbler.  Someone at school gave me a bunch of peaches the other day.

Hope you all have a terrific weekend!  I know I’m going to! 😀

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Family, journal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Night

  1. Skye says:

    Oooh, I want to see a video of a cadaver being dissected! I have the utmost admiration for people who are willing to let their bodies be used to educate people in that way, as well as a reverence for the human body and how amazing it is. Sadly, I will only be dissecting fake models of people when I take Anatomy and Physiology, but perhaps they will show that movie too… I am hoping.

    I’m glad you get Grace back tomorrow, and that you got to talk to Tommy, AND that you get to watch Jimmy Stewart movies! I’m also really excited for you about your classes and your new career direction! 🙂 Love you! xoxoxo

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Love you too Skye! 🙂 I thought of you actually. I know you like watching those reality things of surgeries and with that coroner lady and all. It’s not really a ‘movie’…just a video showing and explaining as the head, neck and face is being dissected. The textbook has good pictures in it, but they’re drawings. It is definitely better seeing where it is on an actual person. I heard though that they have virtual autopsies now. Tommy actually just was telling me that…that medical students won’t have to dissect actual people anymore, because of the virtual thing. As good as computer technology has become with all that, somehow I still don’t think it would be as good.

      Oh, and by the way, I’m proud of you too!! xoxoxoxo

  2. Portia says:

    I am honored to nominate you for the One Lovely Blog Award! Please pick up your award at http://portiainn.wordpress.com . Copy and Paste the Award to your blog and follow the rules of acceptance. I wish you many blessings. Congratulations!!

  3. So glad things are going well at school and that Gracie will be home tomorrow. I know she’s a blessing. Do have a wonderful weekend…We’re seeing our daughter from Illinois today and she’s staying over to tomorrow…so we’re looking forward to that. Also we’re going to see our 2 grandsons (her sons) next week so that’s nice too. Take care..have fun..Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      How wonderful! I hope you all have a great visit. 🙂 And thanks Diane! 🙂 Yes, I have to get off this computer here in a few and get some things done!

Leave a Reply

