Sisterhood of the World Bloggers and Ten Commandments Awards


Thank you again to Marilyn (faithnibbles) for selecting me for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award!  And thank you to The 1 Saved by Grace for selecting me for the Ten Commandments Award too.  I hope you don’t mind, but I have taken the liberty to change that photo, since this award is different than the Mrs. Sparkly’s 10 Commandments Award, because it actually references the 10 Commandments.  I appreciate both of you for considering me for these very much! 🙂

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

For this one, the rules say to tell 7 things about me.

1) I have 3 older brothers, and no sisters.

2) My Christian faith is central to who I am.

3) I’m studying to get my LMT license right now. (Licensed Massage Therapist)

4) I have 3 grown children of my own, 2 step children, and 2 honorary step children.

5) I have 3 grandchildren out of all of the above…2 girls and a boy.

6) I have lived in 3 countries besides the U.S.

7) I can think of a song for just about anything people might say…and often randomly just start singing it.

The 7 people I’d like to pass this on to, in no particular order are:

1) Diane

2) Sandy

3) Tijuana

4) Maggie

5) Melissa

6) Bird

7) Arianna

I love you all!

For the next one, the Ten Commandments Award, again, thank you to The 1 Saved by Grace for this honor! 🙂

The Ten Commandments are from GOD, and are the standards to which we are to hold ourselves. The 10 commands can easily be grouped into two groups — love for God and love for others. These commandments where given to Moses and the Children of Israel in the wilderness after their escape from slavery in Egypt.
Can you imagine how much better our world would be IF all people lived and followed these commandments?
Ten Commandments from the Bible
The Ten Commandments Exodus 20:3-17. :
1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
2. You shall not make unto thee any graven image.
3. You shall not take the name of the Lord God in vain.
4. Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy.
5. Honor your father and your mother.
6. You shall not murder.
7. You shall not commit adultery.
8. You shall not steal.
9. You shall not bear false witness.
10. You shall not covet.
RULES: The rules for this award are that you must answer the following ten questions and nominate ten blogs that you think deserve the award.
1. Describe yourself in seven words. Honest, Faithful, Caring, Sentimental, Artistic, Quirky, Pensive
2. What keeps you up at night? Troubles sometimes, excitement sometimes about good things too.
3. Whom would you like to be? Myself
4. What are you wearing now? Pajamas
5. What scares you? Rodents
6. What are the best and worst things about blogging? It’s a good outlet to express just things of the journey, things about my faith, or to express myself artistically with poetry or abstracts…and I love the people I’ve met here, and sense of community!  The worst thing is that it can be time consuming sometimes.  The spam is annoying, but not really the worst thing.
7. What was the last website you looked at? Facebook
8. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be? I would be able to communicate better just talking to people.  I’m good at it with the written word, but not so much in up close and personal conversations usually.
9. Slankets, yes or no? No
10. Tell us something about the person who nominated you.
The 1 Saved By Grace is a lovely person, who is a recovering addict and a very committed Christian.
Bonus Question: What is your testimony for Jesus Christ?  I was raised a Catholic Christian, very strictly to adhere to Catholicism and its teachings.  As a young mother when my first husband was in the Navy and we were stationed in Guam, I was severely depressed.  I used to stay to myself in the house with the curtains drawn and rarely went out.  A neighbor came over one day to invite me to some kind of party at her house…tupperware or crystal or something like that.  She handed me the invitation and I burst into tears.  She came in and was very kind, wanting to help.  I told her she couldn’t possibly understand because look at her…she was beautiful and well dressed, her kids were always neat and well behaved…she was perfect.  She proceeded to tell me her story, which was of a person who was far from who I had her pegged as.  And she suggested I go to the Protestant chaplain on the base for counseling, and also to ask Jesus into my life.  I had been taught that if I ever left Catholicism I would go to hell.  It wasn’t that if you were born outside of Catholicism you were doomed to hell.  But that if you were given the gift to have been born into it as I was, and then left, it was a grave sin.  So even though I was grown, I was afraid about that.  But after Susie left, I got on my knees, asked forgiveness of my sins and asked Jesus into my heart.  I also called the chaplain and made an appointment with him.  The rest is absolute history.  Jesus did come into my life, I was miraculously delivered from the depression, though I did have bouts of it again later on and was healed through medication and hospitalization, and learned that it was an actual physical illness, which I had not thought.  I thought it was a character defect.  Aside from the depression, my life has continued to change through the years…I’ve grown stronger in faith, have felt the presence of God and not only spoken to him through prayer, but He speaks to me as well.  I had always believed in Jesus.  But I had never really ‘known’ him, or known God in a personal way until that day when I got on my knees.  My life’s never been the same since, and it was the best decision I ever made.

10 Bloggers I’d like to pass this award on to:

Kathy Lashley

Stephen

Linda

Steven

Faith Checks

Terry

Sara

Cindy French

Author Thelma Cunningham

Just My Faith Talking

I hope you’ll check out all these good peoples’ blogs, and any of the ones listed on my blogroll that aren’t listed here as well.  Love you all. 🙂

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Awards, Blogging, Christianity, Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sisterhood of the World Bloggers and Ten Commandments Awards

  1. Thank You Anne for the nomination….we are like ‘long distance’ sisters…Diane

  2. terry1954 says:

    thank you so much for this award. it means more to me than i can say. it gave me a chance to witness to others who may be yearning to know god……

  3. Maggie says:

    Anne, I thank you with my whole heart. You are so selfless and beautiful. I love reading your posts, and I thank you for the Sisterhood award. I have displayed it proudly on both my blogs.

  4. kathylashley says:

    Thank you Anne. Sorry for the delay. School has been tough and hasn’t allowed me much time to spend on my blog. I will get to it this week!

  5. Anne, Wow, what an honour! Thank you so much!! You are so thoughtful and kind! I didn’t even check my blog site until today. I feek very bummed with myself for not blogging often enough, but everyday things crowd in that “seem” more pressing–like school work, the “ghost writing” thinkg we’re doing for a precious brother in Ottawa, preparing for another long trip, and ensuring my mother-in-law is cared for… I have a long list of thoughts on my heart—but particularly, I long to encourage others, and share more songs. Recently, I’ve come across with some incredibly touching ones that never fail to draw me into God’s presence and make me weep!! I love you dear sister! Blessings!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Much love to you too Linda, and as I said under your post on your page, I totally understand about the time. Love and blessings to you and John, and have a wonderful 4th of July! ♥

Leave a Reply

