Why can’t life be a bed of roses…minus the thorns of course??


I hate when you’re having a perfectly nice, calm day and all of a sudden, out of the blue, something happens to make you feel like you just got punched in the gut.  I want a world with no worries and no problems.  I’ve seen enough trials that I would appreciate that kind of world just fine…I don’t need any more adversity to show me how good the good times are, or anything.  I want to wake up with a smile and a spring in my step, and go to bed with a smile, after a good and productive day, and closing my eyes and drifting off to a pleasant dream land.  I’m not selfish about it…I don’t want y’all to have anymore problems either!  I’ll happily share my bliss. 🙂

So what happened to get me in this mood?  I got a bill in the mail…a really old bill, from a collection agency, that I could swear I paid…but hey…it’s been several years and I don’t have the record of it anymore.  Still, I made the mistake of picking up the phone and calling the number on the bill…talking to a guy who I had trouble understanding and kept having to ask him to repeat himself…doing all I could do to keep from saying some bad words in there too.  He put me on hold to get someone else and I just hung up the phone.  I was already shaking.  Still shaking inside, actually.  And I’m frustrated for even picking up the phone.  What did I think…that the person on the other end would say, “Oh…sorry for our mistake.  You paid it…all is well!”  I knew that wasn’t going to happen.

So now I’m left feeling sorry for losing my temper again, and just saying, “Please God…just make it all disappear! And forgive me for losing my temper…again.”  If someone finds it…put it in a safe place for me please, where I won’t lose it anymore…staple it to my head maybe?

(Sigh)

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, journal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why can’t life be a bed of roses…minus the thorns of course??

  1. wilmoth7 says:

    Oh I hate those. Got a letter the other day. Our garbage company sold out to another one a year ago I think. The old company was so bad about billing us, I went 3 or 4 quarters without paying it and finally called them and had to pay a big chunk. Well, the new company comes in and I pay for the quarter. A few weeks later I get a bill for over a quarter of a year’s worth of pick up from the old company. I ignored it because I wasn’t sure I owed it and they had sold out. Well then I get this collection letter in the mail. I was mad. But I didn’t call, but I faxed and mailed them a letter real quick. I told them that company was horrible about billing, and if we owed them, it was their failure to bill us rather than our failure to pay. Then I told them to send me the proof that we owed them the money. So I am still waiting to see when we get another letter. If you think you paid it you probably did.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Yeah, I remember going into the bank and paying them…but like I said, it was years ago and there’s nothing to prove it. Or if I do have that paperwork still, I’d be hard pressed to find it. It’s Bank of America. They probably owe me money actually…there was some class action lawsuit against them awhile back that I saw something about because of their wrong practices about how they gave people overdrafts when the money was in there, because they took the money out before adding the deposits or something…I’m not sure. I do remember they were bad about that though. I used to like Bank of America at first…I especially liked the branch in Perdido that I banked at. Everyone was really nice and knew me by name. But then they got really big and you’d call and get that stupid automated system that I hate so bad. I remember getting frustrated once trying to figure out how to get to an actual person, and I said a bad word, and the automated voice said, “I think I heard you say that you would like to talk to a customer service representative. Is that right?” LOL I said “YES!!!” LOL

  2. Anne…’Anderson’ had a program (I saw actually the replay this week) about this very “scam’ …yes scam…it’s something that’s done fraudulently to bilk people. If they contact you again just say you are going to contact the police because you know this is a scam and the police will check it out and prove it. You know this because you saw a program on this very thing and so they had better not bother you again!!! I am serious Anne this is totally a scam…The very same thing was spoken of on the show by people who had it happen to them. Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Diane!! I’ll remember that! It was totally frustrating. The guy said, “Do you have the paperwork to prove it?” And I told him, “Not after all these years, no!!” He said it’s been on my credit report, which I haven’t checked in a really long time. I don’t have any money or any assets, so I haven’t worried about it.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I just looked for the collection agency online, and there are numerous complaints about them scamming people for old debts. I really appreciate that info Diane!

Leave a Reply

