The Princess (weekly challenge again)


The Princess

There was a dream I used to have when I was but a child

I had it o’er and o’er again, and it was really wild

I dreamed I was a princess dressed in gown and hat with veil

Night after night it was my job to save you from travail

~~~

By you, I mean my family, my brothers, Mom and Dad

I hated that recurring dream, it made me feel so bad

One time I found that I was shot, the gaping hole within

But still I stood, I wasn’t dead, as you’d have thought I’d been

~~~

In later years, I tried to analyze that crazy dream

Quite a strange dream for just a child, or so it sure would seem

I think I know the reasons now, though I don’t want to share

I could, but I would rather not…I simply do not dare.


http://anexerciseindiscipline.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/20-lines-or-less-weekly-challenge/

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in 20 Lines A Day: An Exercise in Discipline, Poetry, Poetry Challenges, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

