Small things


First of all, I’m not going to have those challenges ready for you at noon today.  I’ll extend it to about 6:00 U.S. central this evening, which will give you more time to vote if you’d like.  I haven’t been back home that long yet and just want some time to relax, and don’t have a new one ready yet either.

And now about the title of this blog, it might seem like a small thing, and to some I know it is, but I rode the bus for the first time this morning.  I arrived at my destination intact, and then back home the same way as well.  In fact, I’ll definitely have to do that more and get out and about occasionally as well as just back and forth to appointments.

I’m one of those people that if I’ve never done something, I tend to dread the first time doing it.  It’s not really fear, but it kind of is I guess.  I wasn’t afraid of riding the bus in of itself…but of taking wrong ones or getting off at wrong spots, etc.  This one though was pretty straight forward.  I had looked online to determine which one to take, and it stopped very near to where I live, and where I needed to go was its last stop before turning around and coming back.  I also managed to get done at the clinic in time to make the last morning bus back, which I had been a little bit concerned about too.  The last run picked up at 9:30 and if I hadn’t made that one, I wouldn’t have another until 2:30 in the afternoon.  And I really didn’t want to be stuck downtown all that time.  It wouldn’t have been so bad if I had money or something. LOL  Plus, I was hungry and had only had a few swallows of coffee before heading out this morning so now I’m home, have had a cup of coffee and bowl of oatmeal, and the best thing is that I was cleared for 6 months at my appointment…again.  So barring them calling me back yet again to say something different, I’m good to go until November.  And I don’t expect to be called back about it since this wasn’t any of those kind of tests…it was an exam and to look over all the results, explain them and verify that all looked okay.  She said it wouldn’t be unusual for me to have to go back every 6 months 3 or 4 times before being cleared for good on this, that sometimes that happens.  So I’m just thankful to have it all done.  It has been years since I had an exam last and it was way beyond time.

I’m hoping that my circumstances will change so that in another year I’ll be situated better and even have insurance by that time.  That would be so nice.  Meanwhile, I’m thankful for these avenues to get the help when its needed, because the reason I have been so run down and sick is for going so long without getting the medical care I needed.  I guess as we get older it catches up with us sometimes with the high blood pressure, high cholesterol issues and other issues as well.

So…I’m thankful today for the beautiful day, and for another small step (big one really for me) riding that bus this morning, nice conversations with people along the way, to have the medical clearance before starting back to school, for coffee and instant oatmeal, and for whatever lies ahead in the rest of the day.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small things

  1. I’m so glad that the test results went well..as you say one less thing to worry about. I know what you mean about even having to take buses…I’ve been away from them for so long I would be very nervous about taking the wrong one or getting off the wrong place and then being lost…That’s one cognitive issue that is very prominent with me with having MS…my reasoning skills and memory… and my sense of direction even when I drive. Thank goodness for my GPS if I have to go anywhere other than a direct route……Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      GPS is awesome…though it can send you in the wrong direction sometimes. Believe me…first hand experience with that when Ted was driving the big truck. 🙂 I need an internal GPS though. LOL

Leave a Reply

