Busy morning


I have my lasagna put together, and a homemade apple cake baking in the oven.  About to go shower for church and then clean up the messy kitchen.  I’m so thankful to be able to have friends over for dinner after church today.  I love doing that, although I’m really weird about it.  I get flustered and flighty about what needs to be done.  My family learned to ignore that about me, especially on the holidays when there was so much cooking and preparation to do.  It probably would seem to someone who doesn’t know me that I don’t like doing it. LOL  But my family learned that I love it.  I’m just not a calm organizer.

I don’t have people over that often at all, and it’s really a nice treat for me.  This is one of the couples from church who has been so good to my family.  There are many, and if I could, I’d invite them all over for a party.  I’m not really set up for that and really would go nutty.  But I do have other people I want to repay for their incredible kindnesses…rides to church and appointments and just little things that have been so kindly done.

Now I’d best shut up and get in the shower!  Have a good Sunday!

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, journal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Busy morning

  1. Sounds delicious and like ‘fun’…Have a good time …Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      We had a wonderful time. Dinner was really good, and the company was even better. They left about 20 minutes ago with some take out in hand, which is good too so that we don’t have so much left over. It was nice to ‘entertain’. Of course, I’m very informal in my ‘entertaining’. So it’s nice to entertain people who appreciate that too. 🙂 I have a tendency to push people away rather than make too many friends sometimes too. I think it’s that trust thing. These are really genuine people and we had a very nice visit. Thank you Diane!

  2. kyllingsara says:

    I hope you have a wonderful meal in the company of others.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thanks Sara! It was very nice, and I’m so glad they came over. And that lasagna was pretty good if I do say so myself. The apple cake wasn’t bad either. I probably could’ve taken it out of the oven a few minutes sooner, but it wasn’t burned…just starting to get a little dry. It was still good though and they wanted to take some home when I asked, so that’s a good sign. 🙂

      • kyllingsara says:

        Dry apple cake is better than no apple cake. 🙂 It’s the Norwegian in me… lol I am sure it was tasty just the same. Being with others is something I miss, but it’s starting to look up. I turned down an invitation yesterday because of babysitter issues, but at least I’m being invited!

        • Anne Sikes says:

          That’s so true. I was telling them today that I have a tendency to push people away when they start to get too close. It’s really weird. I’m not completely sure why I do it. It’s certainly not on purpose…just some sort of subconscious thing that goes on…yet I realize that I do it now. But I do go into a sort of freak out mode if people start to get too close…and the people who last through that phase are the ones that have sometimes become very good friends. I imagine it’s a trust thing…I’m pretty open about things, and I want to be that way. But at the same time it makes me feel uncomfortable until I get to a place where I know the person is still gonna stick around. And sometimes they don’t. 🙂

          • kyllingsara says:

            I get you completely! Due to my similar way of thinking and feeling, I cannot guarantee that I will be here forever, but I promise that I will try to the best of my ability to not be one of those people who use the revolving door in your life.
            Yes, I believe it’s absolutely a trust thing. I also believe it’s a test of sorts. At least it is for me. Since I don’t trust others, I try to push them away to see if they come back. Not on a conscious level, but I do just the same. But for now you are stuck with me, Anne. And if I can help it, I am not going anywhere.

            • Anne Sikes says:

              😀 I’m glad. I’ve been concerned since I’ve sort of withdrawn recently on here to a degree. It seems though that I haven’t been the only one who has done so. And there are other things pressing on me in my outside world too right now. When I was sick all the time I sat on here practically all the time. But now I’m better, and busier…and that’s a good thing, right? 🙂 But I do hope you stick around. I’m glad to know you.

  3. jmgoyder says:

    “I am not a calm organizer” – I love this and can so relate to this!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thanks…I’m glad I’m not alone. 🙂 They actually laugh at me a lot of the time…they don’t usually get bothered when I go a little crazy. LOL I actually didn’t do too bad though today. We were talking while the lasagna was in the oven and I forgot to make a salad, so I grabbed a pkg. of frozen green beans…one of those that you can just stick in the microwave right in the bag, and we had that instead. Maybe I’m mellowing a little bit with age now. It was easier in a way today, because I got all the messy work done and cleaned up ahead of time this morning. Well…I made the sauce last night and then did the rest this morning. All I had to do when we got back here was take the lasagna out of the fridge and stick it in the oven, and make some garlic toast and coffee. So it was nice because there was more time to just relax and visit. 🙂

      • jmgoyder says:

        You are so ahead of me – I am microwaving frozen pies for Son and seem unable to do much else in terms of meals!

        • Anne Sikes says:

          When I married my first husband in 1975, I couldn’t cook much of anything. I had been baking homemade bread since I was 10, but had done very little cooking. I picked up recipes from here and there from friends or family, and we had a lot of hamburger helper. 🙂 Then on our 4th wedding anniversary, he bought me a set of cookbooks. (hint hint) LOL I would decide what I wanted to make as in, something with chicken, or hamburger, or steaks, or whatever. Then I would look through all the cookbooks and pick a recipe. It took me a really long time to be able to improvise with my cooking. It had been driven in so well to me with the baking that precise measurements were important. And for baking, they often are. But now I mostly don’t go by recipes. Some things I do, but mostly it’s just throwing things together and I find it fun. 🙂 But I microwave pot pies sometimes too. LOL

Leave a Reply

