What makes life worth living?


I love the movie “Groundhog Day” with Bill Murray. Most, if not all of you have seen it, I’m sure.  If you haven’t, you should.  I’m a big Bill Murray fan anyway.  Love his movies.  But I’ve seen “Groundhog Day” as many times as that character relived that day I think. 🙂  And I have it out because I intend to watch it again today.

I was thinking about that movie though, and it’s premise, which I think was a really, really good idea and while it was pretty funny throughout, it also speaks the truth I think about what makes life worth living.  You see at the beginning of the movie, this self-centered, arrogant character, Phil, who Murray plays.  He never does anything that doesn’t have some ulterior motive to give him something.  He’s rude and thoughtless and nobody likes being around him.

Then throughout the movie, as he keeps having to relive this day over and over, he begins to use those selfish traits at first to take advantage of the situation.  But as time goes on…or rather, doesn’t go on…he tries every way possible to end his life.  He’s miserable and the thought of reliving that one day over and over again with those people who he doesn’t think much of, and in that little town he doesn’t like much…is just too much for him.

Of course, by the end of the movie he ‘gets it’.  He has completely changed.  He spends every one of those Groundhog Days living life to the fullest…but not by serving his own selfish interests as he once did…but by serving everyone else and being kind.  People are drawn to him, but that’s not even his goal.  They’re drawn to him because he has become a genuinely nice, giving guy.

I think that’s the secret of life, isn’t it?  And that premise, while the movie wasn’t a Christian movie by any means, goes along with Christian principles of how we’re supposed to live…love being the greatest commandment…putting others before ourselves, living in peace with everyone as much as it’s possible, etc.

I pray that I will do better with this in my own life.  And I pray that our society will as a whole too…that more people will live unselfishly and with love and kindness, rather than hatred and judgment and that ‘me first’ attitude that prevails so much of the time.  I can’t do anything about anyone else and what they do though…I can only deal with what’s within me and do my best to correct that.  I vow to do so today.  I pray that God will show me every selfish motive and attitude in every corner of my heart, and I make you all my witnesses so that if you see something on here at least that doesn’t fit in with that, you can call me on it, and I invite you to do so.  Ha ha…just be kind if you do that though. 😉 LOL

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What makes life worth living?

  1. Chrystal says:

    Love the analogy. Love the movie, too. Maybe I’ll watch it tonight. 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I was going to watch earlier this afternoon, but my daughter called and invited me to lunch. She’s been petsitting this weekend in a neighboring town and was back here to do a few things. I was actually proud of myself because I have a tendency to freak out with last minute invitations like that, and I usually say no. But I didn’t, and I’m glad I didn’t. I had a nice lunch and visit with her, on a beautiful Saturday. I am going to lie down on the couch and pop it in the DVD player here shortly though I think. I must’ve seen that movie at least 50 times…probably more. And I never get tired of it…always enjoy it.

  2. arkenaten says:

    One of my top ten of all time. The DVD sits on a shelf next to my favorite books.
    “Its that nice young man from the motor club”

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Ha h aha! Yup. 🙂 I can’t get enough of that movie. It’s one of a very few movies that are like that for me. 🙂

      • arkenaten says:

        My other two all time favs are Grumpy Old Men & Grumpier Old Men.
        “Lesbian bandits…great!” (Walter Mattheau) Grumpy Old Men.
        One of the funniest people who ever lived.

        • Anne Sikes says:

          I like those movies too. Mattheau and Lemmon were great together. One of my other faves that makes me laugh out loud every time I see it is My Cousin Vinny. And I love Miss Congeniality too. Love Sandra Bullock. On the heavier side of things, and going back to my favorite classic movies, Days of Wine and Roses with Jack Lemmon and Lee Remick is one of my all time favorite movies. But it makes me sob instead of laugh. 🙂

          • arkenaten says:

            Bucket list has a similar effect.

            • Anne Sikes says:

              That’s true. It’s just in a more warm hearted way I think…if I had to try to find a way to describe it. Have you ever seen Days of Wine and Roses? I think it’s one of the best movies ever…although it could be described as depressing. It’s a very well acted story of alcoholism and the destruction it causes.

            • arkenaten says:

              No. Never seen it. The bucket list is about my limit where it comes to such tragedy.
              Don’t really enjoy heavy movies, these days.

            • Anne Sikes says:

              I don’t either usually. I know my daughter wanted to pick a movie the other day for us to watch together, and I specifically said “NO TEAR JERKERS!” LOL She tends to watch them a lot. I tend to prefer something comedic. The Bucket List is a tear jerker, but it’s also heart warming and has redeeming qualities that make you smile through your tears. Days of Wine and Roses is just plain tragic. Still…it’s one that now and then I find myself wanting to watch. I don’t have it. Wish I did actually. It’s really the only exception to the rule that I can think of, of a movie that is so depressing that I like that much. Most of them, I’ll avoid. Even “When A Man Loves A Woman”, which is another story of alcoholism from a different slant, and also well acted…it’s too depressing to me and I don’t feel the same about it.

              Your comments are going to my spam folder again by the way. So if there’s a delay…they’ll get there eventually. I have no clue why they do that so often. Some of them post with no problem and others go straight to spam. Just wanted you to know, because I’m not screening your comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

