Winner of the Name That Abstract #5 and new Poetry Challenge!


As it turns out, the winner of the Name That Abstract #5 is also Timzauto! 🙂  Congratulations Tim.  The winning name, with 5 votes, was Evolving Illumination.

So for this week’s poetry challenge, put your poems of any style, titled “Evolving Illumination“, in the comments section below, or a link to them.  Votes for the poems can be made by clicking on the ‘thumbs up’ above the entries.  Friday at noon U.S. Central, as usual, will be the deadline for entering your poems, and then voting will end next Tuesday.  Thanks for playing!  Here is my own poem to start you off.

Evolving Illumination
by Anne Sikes

Evolving Illumination

 

Before I met you,

I thought the light in that part of

My heart had been extinguished forever.

But when we met, I came alive once again.

The happiness I felt illuminated my being

from the inside out…strong and bright.

The light grew steady, gave warmth

I thought it was forever

But then it flickered

There is still light

The light of remembrance

Not gone, but evolved to something new.

Not better

Not worse

Just different.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Blogging, Fun, Games, Name That Abstract, Photography, Photoshop, Poetry Challenges, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Winner of the Name That Abstract #5 and new Poetry Challenge!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Beautiful poem! Thank you for sharing that. I had forgotten to say in the post above, (I’ve edited now to correct) but as usual for these poetry challenges, the title should be the same as the name chosen for that abstract. So the title of poems entered in this should be “Evolving Illumination”. I hope you will submit an entry, and I’m sorry if you intended that one to be entered. I need to write the rules somewhere else and then just copy and paste so I don’t forget to say anything next time. Thanks again for sharing your beautiful poem with us!

  1. Pingback: Winners and new challenges | 20 LINES A DAY – an exercise in discipline

  2. MaryAnn Fry says:

    Come he said
    and she approached.
    Come, he said
    and she stood still.
    Come, he said
    and she expanded.
    Light moving
    life.
    She has known this before.
    Love waking,
    fresh in his taking so much time.
    So much tender time.
    Come, my love,
    sit, he said
    penetrating her without touch.

    And she,
    pausing long enough to remember him for the first time. ~

  3. timzauto says:

    Evolving Illumination

    Skies above us black as night
    Dreams we have, such a fright
    Awake all night the clouds they churn
    In my mind these bad thoughts burn
    Just as this lucidity caught my imagination
    Breaking clouds bring evolving illumination
    Made it through one more spell
    Away I crawl from my shell…..

  4. Pingback: Evolving Illumination « timzauto

  5. Pingback: Time to vote on the Poetry Challenge and Name That Abstract | My Life Uncut…Almost

  6. Pingback: Winners of this weeks challenges… | My Life Uncut…Almost

Leave a Reply

