What keeps me going


Some days the only thing that keeps me going is remembering a day in 1999, that awful day when so many things in my life were falling apart and I was in an awful, lonely, hurting place.  God spoke these words to my heart that night.  I’ve never forgotten it.  I’ve never forgotten the absolutely incredible love that surrounded me that night and lifted me out of that awful place.

There have been many ‘dark days’ since.  Many trials and hurts and betrayals and lonely moments when I just felt I didn’t want to go on.  And every time, I remember that night, and it keeps me going.   I jumped up that night and practically flew to the piano and wrote this song.  It just came…like it wasn’t me, but Him writing it.  I even remember there was one line in it that I was uncertain about “You are not a dry and barren land that’s been wasted by the sun.”  I thought about it after writing that line and thought…”Is that right?  ‘Wasted’ by the sun?”  I looked up the word ‘wasted’ and it was perfect.

I don’t know why I still get to feeling like this sometimes, after all He has done to show me He loves me.  And I most certainly don’t know why He loved me that much to give me that…to carry me through trials that would come years later.  But I do know that with those words that night…and that incredible love that was very real that I was enveloped in, when these moments come, I can always go on.  And I’ve never felt that again in my life…never felt that indescribable love.  But I don’t even need to.  That one time was enough to last…even these 12 1/2 years afterward.

And here’s the thing…these words weren’t just for me.  I know that.  So if you’re feeling like me, tired and worn down and discouraged and wishing things were different, etc….please believe me when I say there is nothing like that love…His love.  He is there…He is real…and He loves you…and me.

I’ll post the video below the lyrics too.  It’s not a great video…just a homemade one, made 8 years after I wrote the song, which was 4 1/2 years ago now.

He Loves You

by Anne Sikes

(November, 1999)

 

You are not what has been done to you, you are not the things you’ve done.

You are not a dry and barren land, that’s been wasted by the sun.

You are not the tears that flood your eyes when you feel you can’t go on.

You’re a child of the father, and He loves you.

~

Don’t you know that God so loved the world, that He gave His only son

That whoever would believe in Him lives on and on and on?

Christ, who is your brother understands your ev’ry pain

Fall into his sweet embrace, because he loves you.

~

Don’t give up…he loves you.

You can always depend on him to see you through

Just hang on…Jesus died for you.

And whatever your sorrow, there’s hope for your tomorrow.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Music, video and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What keeps me going

  1. you have a beautiful voice!

  2. lbtk says:

    Anne, did I know that you play the piano? And write songs?

    And did you know that I play the piano? And write songs?

    For my children’s choir, I took the Beatles’ “I Will” and wrote new words for Mother’s Day. For Father’s Day, I used “My Bonnie Lies over the Ocean” and wrote a funny song for the kids to sing for their fathers.

    I have tried my hand at a couple of original songs. I think I would love to work with a musician and put some of my poetry lyrics to music. I sort of hear music when I write poetry.

    I LOVED THIS VIDEO! And I’m glad to know that we have so much in common! I just keep learning things about you at every turn, girl! Sandy

  3. It’s a beautiful song Anne….It’s no wonder it means so much to you…Diane

Leave a Reply

