Questions


Questions
by Anne Sikes

I wonder if Jesus had longed for a wife

And just to be settled in family life.

Did he ever dream there was some other way

Than taking the cross for my own sins to pay?

~

I never before entertained such a thought

It seemed just so blasphemous, not what I ought.

But they say that there’s nothing a man feels on earth

That he didn’t feel, up to death from his birth.

~

And I know that sometimes I long deep within

To be free of the pain, to not lose, but to win.

This life can be difficult.  Days can be cold.

Will it always be that way, until I am old?

~

Don’t misunderstand me, my faith, it is strong

Some people say to think these things is wrong.

I’m just being honest.  I’m just being real.

With things that I wonder, did Jesus, too, feel?

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Poetry, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Questions

  1. timzauto says:

    wow Anne …you are a exceptional gal…bless you..

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Tim…that’s very kind of you and I’m stumbling for a response. 🙂 I feel exceptionally weird…exceptionally a ‘think way too much’ gal…exceptionally like ‘nobody else would dare voice these thoughts, and why am I?…etc. LOL 🙂 🙂 Bless you too! I think it’s partly the rain…partly a lack of sleep, but I’m in a bit of a dream world today I guess.

  2. Well, the Jewish taboo against being single was very strong, you were “murdering your descendants”. Possibly he was married and his wife died, or he had to leave her when going on his ministry. And Jesus was fully human, as well as God.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Hmmm…interesting theories! God fully human?

      • Well, Jesus was God- John 1:1, In the beginning the word was with God, and the Word was God; and, 1:14, the Word became flesh. This counters any Gnostic/ Docetist ideas- and Jesus was human: Philippians 2:7- being born in human likeness, and found in human form.

        What did you think? Jesus was not, for Evangelicals or Roman Catholics, half and half, but wholly man, and wholly God.

        • Anne Sikes says:

          I agree with that…Jesus was not “half and half” but “wholly man, and wholly God.” But Jesus it God the Son. There is the mystery of the trinity…God in 3 persons, the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. All 3 existed from the beginning according to the Bible, but they are God in 3 persons. I don’t agree that God was fully human. Jesus was (is) both God and man…having been born of both God and a woman. God however, while He created us in his likeness, is not merely human. He is spirit, Creator, and is omnipotent, omnipresent, omniscient. God the Father is much more than a mere man…and actually so is God the Son, because he is wholly God as well as wholly human.

Leave a Reply

