You may never see me do this again (editing to try to fix problems)


It will be a very rare occurrence for you to see me request help on here for some cause.  I posted before about the flooding here in Pensacola.  There is an Orthodox Catholic priest here in town, Fr. Nathan Monk, who does a lot of work for the poor and homeless in the community.  He and his wife and 2 very young daughters were just flooded out of their home today.  If any of you are able to help them in any way, if you see the link below, it’s a picture of them standing in their flooded house, and links to Fr. Monk’s Facebook page.  I know that they would appreciate any help you could give them.

Father Nathan Monk – Facebook

St. Benedict’s Orthodox Church

Ironically they were planning a yard sale today to raise funds for the homeless, but the heavy rains forced them to cancel, and then they were flooded out of their own home.  There is a link in the comments by this photo that Nathan put, where people can donate if they’re able.

Again, I won’t do this often, but I do know them personally, and I know they’re very much involved, hands on, with helping the poor and homeless here in Pensacola.  Thanks.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to You may never see me do this again (editing to try to fix problems)

  1. Anne I just thought I’d tell you that the link is not available..maybe only temporarily but not right now…Diane

  2. Hey Anne, I just tried the link and it says it is currently unavailable…any ideas?

    Be encouraged!

  3. Anne, you can use my email stephenedwards922@gmail.com

    thanks and be encouraged!

  4. Anne, I just left a message for him on the facebook link you provided in your reply. I will bring this up at our church in the morning and we will see what we can do…I’m sure we can do something…and thank you for bringing this to our attention…maybe we should do more of this…it seems like a good use for our blogging community.

    Be encouraged!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thanks Stephen. They really do a whole lot here for the homeless. Politically speaking, we’re polar opposites. LOL…They’re very liberal. But I have visited their church and consider them friends, and I greatly appreciate what they do for the poor here. They’re very much hands on, helping. They had started a garden to grow fresh vegetables to feed the needy too. Not sure how that fared in the floods, but I don’t imagine it did well considering the flooding around the church and their home. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

