Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award


Ha ha ha! What a cool award!  I have apparently been honored yet again, with a nomination for this very ‘far out’ award (to use a term that still lurks in my memory of the good ol’ 70’s), by Unwritten Truth’s Blog. Thank you so much for thinking of me!  I really appreciate this! 🙂  Because this is a new one, and the rules are a little different than usual, I’m following all the rules this time.

RULES:
The rules for this award are that you must answer the following ten questions and nominate ten blogs that you think deserve the award.

1. Describe yourself in seven words.
genuine, quirky, faith-driven (is that one word?), artistic, family-oriented, loving, hopeful

2. What keeps you up at night?
Concerns about those I love, or many times, this blog. 🙂

3. Whom would you like to be?
I just want to be myself…but the best ‘me’ that I can be.

4. What are you wearing now?
Bell bottom jeans and a purple top, and white tennis shoes.

5. What scares you?
Seeing people I love hurting; being misunderstood

 

6. What are the best and worst things about blogging?

The best is just all the wonderful blogs and friends I’ve made here, and of course the perks of these awards are nice too. 🙂  Also it’s a place to come and express myself and just be me.  That’s really nice.

The worst is that there’s never enough time it seems to really devote the time to my friends’ blogs like I would like to.  I still haven’t found a balance between everything, and seriously need to.

7. What was the last website you looked at?
Facebook

8. If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?
Just one? 🙂  I would be more self-confident.

9. Slankets, yes or no?
Um…huh?  I guess the answer would be no, since I have no idea what that is. 🙂

10. Tell us something about the person who nominated you.
Poetry…loveliness…most definitely worth checking out if you have not done so yet!

http://unwrittentruth.wordpress.com/

Nominations for Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award:

1. Everyone Has A Story

2. Kylling Sara

3. Worldly Winds

4. Arianna’s Random Thoughts

5. The Wandering Youth

6. Lady Romp

7. Terry 1954

8. LBTK

9. Hometogo232

10. Romancing the Bee

Once again, I want to thank all you wonderful bloggers out there for sharing your journey.  Love and blessings to you all!!

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Awards, Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments Award

  1. Pingback: Does Anyone Know Who Mrs Sparkly Is? And Why Is She Giving Me This Award? « Everyone Has A Story

  2. terry1954 says:

    thank you Anne. I have never heard of this one. i love learning something every day. u can teach an old dog new tricks. lol

  3. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Congrats! Much deserved!

    Pink.

  4. Congratulations!! Thank you so much 😀 😀
    I will get onto this at the weekend – I have a cousin visiting whom I haven’t seen for 35 years – I’m so excited (house cleaning has taken precedent over writing for the last couple of days!!!)
    Thank you 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      You’re welcome Alex. I need to do a bunch of housework and organization too. Grace is gone to visit her daddy for awhile this summer, so it’ll be a good time to do it…if I can get all these stupid, blasted doctor appointments taken care of. (sigh) Have another one Tuesday morning, dental that afternoon, and orientation for school Thursday afternoon. Supposed to start school again on the 18th, and am looking forward to it. I’m SO hoping to have all these medical things taken care of by then…as well as some of the housework. 🙂 Enjoy your visit! That sounds so wonderful. I can totally understand your excitement!! 🙂

      • Hi Anne – Just to let you know…
        Thank you so much for nominating me for this – I really do appreciate it.
        Unfortunately I think I am going to dip out of the awards – someone has sent me a very angry response to an award that they nominated me for. (Not this award, but the sunshine award.)

        I’m not really sure what I’ve done wrong – I think maybe – I assumed all the awards were generic, when I receive them I tend to take out the past nominees, add my own, answer any questions and then forward it. On this occasion I am wondering if it was the person’s own words and they feel I should have changed all the wording.

        Well – whatever it is I’ve done, I’ve really upset them and it has quite shaken me up the response I got from them.

        Later this weekend I will put a post up thanking people, and apologise, and explain that I’m not participating any more, and I will remove the ‘offending’ award!!

        Blimey – wonder if this happens at the Oscars!!!
        I just wanted to let you know as yours is the only award I have left outstanding – I didn’t want to inadvertently upset anyone else today!!!

        Alex
        xxx

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Oh I’m sorry Alex! But I understand…not what the person would’ve been upset about…but your feelings. But don’t let that one person dictate what you do, either. If you want to bow out of the awards I understand and lots of people do that. I’m just saying don’t do it because someone else blew a gasket about something you don’t even fully understand. Love ya’, and hope you have a terrific weekend, at any rate. –Anne

          • Thank you so much Anne 🙂

            I eventually found some old comments that I had missed. The ‘upset party’ had re-worded the award. I hadn’t realised and had just forwarded it and she is upset. She feels I have ‘ripped off’ her wording.

            It is hard to know when so many awards are flying around, what is the genuine award wording and what parts have been re written by others.

            She wanted acknowledgment for using her wording, then I missed some of the comments that she has sent – which didn’t help.
            Oh dear 😦
            I’ve put my foot in it again!!
            Lesson learned the hard way!

            Alexxxxx

            • Anne Sikes says:

              It’s hard to get all the comments on here! Especially if you don’t log on for awhile and come back, because WordPress won’t let me see them all in my notifications, because the page won’t load past a certain number of them, and I have to go looking through my dashboard and all to see if I missed any. Anyway, I’m really sorry that happened to you!!

            • I’m kicking myself – last week I thought I’d hoovered up all the missed comments – apparently not! Doh wordpress why can you not count above 9!!!

              I’ve just had an email from the person I upset – I think we are smoothing over right now – phew!!
              xxx


            • Thank you for your kind words and support – it means a lot to me!
              xxx

            • Anne Sikes says:

              You always brighten my day with your kindness and gentleness. Thank YOU! 🙂

        • See I maybe new but I Catch on quick sorry you got grief and I too must bow out before someone gives me grief that would not be good! 🙂

          • Anne Sikes says:

            Well…okay Eunice! I hope you have a good weekend too! 🙂 Blessings –Anne

            • Anne Sikes says:

              Thank you! 🙂 It’s pouring down here. I just had a lovely text from a friend that really put a smile on my face. I slept later than usual today, got up and fed Marley the cat who always screams for his food like he’s starving (and believe me, he isn’t), and am having morning coffee and a quiet day other than the sound of the rain crashing down outside. 🙂 Hope your day is blessed! ♥

          • Aw it is a shame – it was just an issue over leaving someone elses wording in the award and then made worse by missing comments. 😦

            • I know we are ONLY HUMAN who knows what the other person is going through to make them act so unfair

            • Nah – it was my fault for not re-wording the award – less haste and all that. They weren’t unfair – just a ‘series of unfortunate events’ including missed comments (by me) and an incorrect email address on wordpress (probably my typing!!)

            • man I cut and paste and add and subtract I would get in some trouble lol 🙂

            • I think that is the lesson learned – it is too much of a minefield knowing what is the original wording and what is someone elses words. It makes them too much hard work to have to totally re-write and then add all the links in.

Leave a Reply

