Brain power


http://www.willamette.edu/~gorr/classes/cs449/brain.html

I was thinking about our brains, and what fascinating organs they are.  They’re like computers.  The brain tells us when we’re in pain, it’s telling me right now which fingers to push to type these words on here, it tells me to pick up my feet and walk…to stop or go around something or someone that’s in my way. 

Then there’s all the information the brain stores.  When we’re born we begin learning…storing information that tells us how to form words and what those words mean, and that stores information about our experiences and surroundings…memories.

Some people have ‘programming problems’ I guess you could say, with their brains.  I don’t understand all the complexities of that.  But in regard to certain mental illnesses, or epilepsy, etc., something in there isn’t working quite like ‘normal’.  I’m one who believes there’s no such thing as normal.  And I also believe that God’s creation is perfect.  No mistakes.  You wonder sometimes when you have physical or mental disabilities…or challenges.  But I believe it nonetheless.  I mean, I know some people who the world would refer to so cruelly as ‘retards’…who are such wonderful, beautiful souls.  The word retarded means slowed.  The truth is there are a lot of supposedly normal people who are more retarded in the way they live their lives than the ‘retarded’ people are. And by the way…I hate that word.  This will probably be the only time you see me using it because I hate it with a passion.

 Mostly this morning I was thinking about the brain in terms of our memories, and whether they’re good or bad.  Why would God create such a wonderful thing as our brains…so complex and amazing, and then tell us to shut off some part of it?  Yet, we often are told, or think ourselves that we should forget about the past and just live for today.  I just wrote a poem about it yesterday.  But I just don’t think memories are bad, in of themselves.

Yes, I think when you start dwelling on them so much that you’re kind of trying to go back to that time and relive it, that’s unhealthy.  But remembering the things that happened to us, both good and bad, is something that God has given us the ability to do.  And I don’t think he gives us that capacity so that we can try to shut it down.

That said, I do think that the devil will take things that are meant for good and use them against us…and that he does that all the time.  So he will tempt us to draw up some memory…maybe a good one from the past…and start feeling like where we are right now is so awful and how much we wish we could go back to that other time.  Or he may tempt us to draw up the painful memories and dwell on them too much, which also has the potential to destroy the present moments.  They can drag us down…paralyze us…make us bitter and angry…make us dwell on how awful our lives are, or how worthless we are with all the mistakes we may have made in the past.

I think it’s good though, if we remember where we came from…especially in terms of before coming to know God.  But drawing on all of our past experiences to learn from them, to make today better, and in turn tomorrow better by drawing from the good and learning from the bad…I think that can be very good.  The Bible does say to forget those things which are behind:

Philippians 3:12-14

King James Version (KJV)

12 Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.

13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

But I think that means to leave those things in the past behind…not that we don’t have them still in our memory, and that it isn’t okay that we do.  Just that we’re not supposed to go back there and camp out. 

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brain power

  1. I totally agree…we can learn from our past or even help others dealing with things we did in the past…and at the same time not dwelling on it in a negative way or affecting our life now in the present…..Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Exactly! So many times people seem to just assume that if you’re talking about something that’s past, you’re ‘dwelling’ on the past and you should stop it. I don’t agree with that. Paul talked in the Bible about all the list of things he’d been through, shipwrecked, beaten, imprisoned…and he talked about his murderous life before serving Christ. He didn’t erase all that from his memory somehow. Thanks Diane! –Anne

  2. I agree, look at the past to learn and to get comfort in good memories, but don’t stay there, and don’t use it as an excuse not to move forward. Great post! I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award. http://blessedwithastarontheforehead.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

