Toothy grin


Okay, I admit that this is a forced grin. πŸ™‚Β  I’m so used to doing everything I can to keep from showing my teeth when I smile…I have to get used to being able to flash them proudly. My daughter took this with her cellphone tonight after dinner.

 

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Toothy grin

  1. Grandby says:

    Love your wonderful happy face Anne! Can I please borrow your daughter, I have no clue how to get a picture of me from my phone which has photo’s on it? I love that earthen vessels quote, it brings back wonderful memories of a Penance service I attended many years ago. The priest was amazing and used this passage and the song that goes with it, along with broken pottery strewn across the altar to make his point of our brokenness, and also how loved we are by the God who won’t let go!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      2 Corinthians 4:7

      King James Version (KJV)

      7 But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us.

      I love that verse too, Grandby! πŸ™‚ Thank you for the compliment! I know how to take the pics with my cellphone, but no matter how hard I try they come out awful. But I don’t have one of those fancy phones like my kids have. Actually, the daughter who took this photo just got her new smart phone the other day. She had an older style before, but was eligible for an upgrade. Of course her older style phone was still way fancier than mine is. Mine works to make and receive calls, and occasionally text, though I hate texting.

  2. Grandby says:

    Here is the url for the song, I have it playing as I write this note, and it is bringing tears to my eyes.

  3. Beautiful smile…..should change your wp photo maybe??…Diane

  4. Steven says:

    Smiles are infectious….they always make me feel better! πŸ™‚

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Yay! πŸ™‚ My son saw the picture on my Facebook page and told me I was beautiful…and that he meant it. πŸ˜€ That put a genuine smile on my face! (And a tear in my eye too. I don’t feel beautiful at all…but I am extremely grateful!)

  5. Steven says:

    Hey, when I saw your picture I thought “wow, she’s beautiful”. So many women don’t know how beautiful they are.

    I guess it’s part of the culture these days, given society is constantly reinforced with false images of beauty. Too bad it’s like that. Shalom πŸ™‚

    • Anne Sikes says:

      You have made my day Steven. πŸ™‚ I think society does place way too much emphasis on beauty. That said, once upon a time, I was apparently quite beautiful. LOL…and I always proclaimed that I wanted people to look beyond that. But when I started to age and my appearance was not turning heads anymore…the vanity within me came out in the form of a sort of “Oh my God!” feeling…coupled with a “Why do I care so much?” feeling. But I have been sick for awhile now…dental needs unable to be met too, for such a long time, and a lot of problems with that. I am so much better (and I suspect the dental problems caused a lot of the illness). But beauty should come from somewhere inside, and then regardless of aging or whatever’s on the outside, you will be beautiful. The most beautiful person in the world will not look so much so if they’re frowning or insecure. πŸ™‚ I’ve done a lot of thinking about this…can you tell? Anyway, thank you very much! Blessings –Anne

  6. lily says:

    Ann, when we put on a happy face we are more likely to be happy (studies have shown), but I hope you soon will feel happier, and then truly happy. Genuine smiles from our happy hearts feel ever so much better! I wish your beautiful self Joy, ~ Lily

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Lily! I guess I have my ups and downs, but I believe that too…that when you smile more, you just become happier a lot of the time. Of course, if a person is suffering from clinical depression that’s not the case, given that it is an illness…and I have most definitely been there…smiling on the outside and inside crying out. God bless you! –Anne

  7. lbtk says:

    As someone who has had major dental work (due to pain meds that literally rotted all my upper teeth fron the inside out), I promise you will get used to smiling again.

    When you have aesthetic problems with teeth, you quickly find ways to smile without smiling. I used to have this hand movement where I talked through my fingers. My kids just recently confided to me how creepy it looked.

    So happy for you! Sandy

    • Anne Sikes says:

      LOL! I know what you mean Sandy…I would automatically put my hand over my mouth if I started to laugh. Thank you…and so glad you were able to get your dental work done! It makes such a difference, not just aesthetically, but with physical illness too. Tooth problems can cause a whole multitude of health problems. And some don’t realize that an infected tooth can actually kill a person. I’m happy for me too! πŸ˜€ Blessings! –Anne

  8. Christine says:

    Hello! I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Congratulations! Thank you for your contributions to the Blogosphere! Keep up the great work! You can follow this link, http://wp.me/p1fiGl-h0 for the rules regarding this award!

  9. Congrats Anne…you only get MORE beautiful… πŸ™‚

    Be encouraged!

  10. Bird says:

    I bet you feel like a million bucks and some change! Congratulations, Anne. I am really, really happy for you!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Bird. It is an incredibly good feeling to be able to just smile unabashedly…not to mention being able to eat without pain, and just health wise, having my bad teeth taken care of so that they’re not throbbing and me here eating Excedrin migraine like it’s candy. I still have to take Ibuprofin usually after my appointments when the anesthesia wears off, just from the pain of having my mouth worked on so intensively. But it goes away. πŸ™‚ And I won’t be able to use my teeth as a tool or eat hard foods, but I have no complaints at all about that! I’m so thankful. The dentist has been trying to fix the artificial tooth I had so that it looks more like the rebuilt ones, but so far hasn’t quite gotten it. But it is better than it was, and it fits so well now with the adjustments that it’s not so uncomfortable wearing it, and I can eat with it in there without being bothered like I was before and all. Pretty nice, I must admit. πŸ™‚

      • Bird says:

        I need some work done myself, and probably pretty soon. I’m a big chicken. 😦

        • Anne Sikes says:

          I understand. I hope you can get it taken care of soon. You’ll feel so much better.

          • Bird says:

            I will. The minute one of the front ones crack, I’ll be too embarrassed not to!

            • Anne Sikes says:

              Well that sort of happened to me. The one I have the false tooth for got so bad it was half gone, and it was right in front. But I let it get beyond repair, since I had no insurance. I’ve had 3 pulled, but the other two are in the back. That’s the only one that’s noticeable. But I had so many bad teeth it was awful. I love lemon juice too. I liked to put a splash of lemon juice in a coke or pepsi and yum! But apparently it (along with the sodas themselves) have worn my teeth away so badly the dentist referred to it as looking like my teeth had been washed in acid. So…much as I love lemon, I’ll use it sparingly from now on. Praying you can get your teeth fixed soon. ❀

            • Bird says:

              Thanks, Anne!

            • Anne Sikes says:

              You’re welcome. I know how it is…so very well. Hope you have a terrific day.

            • Anne Sikes says:

              Oops! Forgot you have to do the hearts different on here. πŸ™‚ ♥

Leave a Reply

