Hills and valleys…and fog


Photo taken on a road trip we took to West Virginia, November 2006

It’s been weird lately.  I’ve been rather down, yet so grateful for so many things.  I have trouble concentrating a lot of the time lately, so am behind on reading your wonderful blogs.  It’s not fair to just scan through them.  I’m going to try to go through the reader and do a little catching up later.

Anyway, I haven’t been going to church even, the last couple of weeks, and I love my church.  I just don’t want to be around people because I’m feeling so self-conscious and I might start crying or something stupid.  Crazy, I know.  So I just go to my appointments, to the bus with Grace, or walk to the little store near us sometimes.

I just want you to know that if you’re feeling ignored by me, it’s not because you’re not important to me.  It’s this stupid valley…and the fog of a sort of depression I’m in right now.  I know that I’m not alone.  I think a lot of us are under some kind of attack right now.  Oh, I’ve been accomplishing some things…little bits.  Got some cleaning done the last couple days.  I even cleaned out the refrigerator and took a bunch of trash to the dumpster, which is quite a distance from our apartment, so it was a nice walk with a couple of heavy bags full.  Good exercise. 🙂 And I cooked a nice dinner last night…roast chicken with lemon, garlic and herbs, and sweet potatoes and broccoli.  If Grace ever gets out of bed I may have her help me make some bread or something.  Maybe we’ll make some apple cake.  I haven’t made that in a long time and have some apples that need to get used.

I really am thankful for a lot.  And for the rest, I’m trusting. 

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Faith, journal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hills and valleys…and fog

  1. shianwrites says:

    May God be with you Anne. Talk to him as much as possible. Take care of yourself. 🙂

  2. lily says:

    Ugh, I know how you feel, Anne. I hope that you soon are your cheery confident unfogged self again. This too shall pass. Hugs, ~ Lily

  3. PushDumpFatButton says:

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

Leave a Reply

