Can anyone help me with a WordPress problem?


I’m getting tons of spam.  They seem to be mostly always comments on a specific few posts.  I was just deleting them immediately, but have been leaving them in my spam folder to watch the IP addresses.  And there are several that are coming from the same ones.  How do I report those IP addresses, or block them?  How do I fix this irritating problem?  And should I be concerned that there are specific posts that they seem to be going to?

I appreciate your help.

Blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Can anyone help me with a WordPress problem?

  1. Bird says:

    This has been happening to me a lot for weeks now, but more so the last couple of days. They are mainly on just a few of my articles, too. I just hit the empty spam folder a couple of times a day. I now recognize the places they are coming from, so I don’t even have to read each one anymore. Hope you figure something out!!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thanks Bird! It’s irritating! LOL

      • Bird says:

        Yes…but I’ve come to trust Askimet…Only one or two people’s comments have ever had to be fished out of spam, and mainly it was just Ark’s. He doesn’t write here much, so my spam folder is full of just spam..Easy delete!!

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Yup…I have had a couple others besides Ark’s that wound up in spam and I had to approve, but he’s mostly the only one for me too, and so the same is true here. But other than Ark’s, there are about 250 (estimating) that are genuine spam since I started this blog on March 31st. Crazy! And their wording is so stupid that it’s obvious that they’re spam…most of the time anyway. 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      It’s irritating, isn’t it? I guess we probably all do. I just wonder if they somehow attach to certain ones, since they seem to mostly go to the same few older posts of mine.

  2. loopyloo305 says:

    There is a way that you can block them if you have either their email address,ip addresss, name or URL.
    Go to your dashboard page and in the area, on my page on the left hand column, there is a settings icon, click on it and under it choose discussion, scroll down til you come to a box and follow the instructions there on how to block someone. I have had to do it a few times myself.
    The past couple of days, there has been a lot of spam, as long as it doesn’t appear for you to moderate, it usually isn’t any problem but I have been having regular subscribers wind up there as well. People who have comment almost since I started my blog. God bless and I hope that helps.

  3. same problem Anne, I just hit the master “Delete Permanently” button…granted it is kind of a pain…and I have no idea why all of sudden it increased from two or three a week to over thirty a day…sometimes they are kind of fun to read…especially the ones that tell me how wonderful and great I am and how my blog entry (which their cousin told them about) has changed their lives forever…lol…I save those for the times when I’m just sitting staring at the blank screen and can’t think of a single thing worthy to write about… 🙂

    Be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

