Anger Management


I was thinking about anger, and whether it’s a sin or not.  This because as much as I try to shrug it off, I still am having some issues with things I’m angry about.  And in some ways, I am justified to feel angry.  But I am not justified to hold onto it and allow it to fester within me, poisoning my mind and my body, nor would it be right to lash out in return and try to take revenge somehow against people who somehow hurt me.

There are quite a few verses in the Bible about anger, and the truth is, it is not always a sin.  It’s really what the anger is based on, and what we do with our anger that makes it a sin or not, I think.  I mean, if you fly off the handle in violent outbursts out of your anger, that’s definitely sinful.  And I’ve been there.  I have spoken horrible words in anger…and pretty much immediately was filled with horror and regret.  I have also held onto anger at times, and it has made me sick inside when I’ve done that, as well as dictating the words and attitudes I had toward others.  I’ve suffered from depression, which is really anger turned inward, they say.  And speaking for my own situation there, it was.  Through my healing process with that, I became angry at others in that process…and that was actually healthy for me, because I was finally directing the anger to where it belonged.

There are actually people who have taken their pain and anger from situations in their lives and directed it appropriately, to effect changes in laws, or to help others in some way.  One example I can think of is Candy Lightner, the woman who founded the organization MADD after her daughter was killed by a drunk driver.  Another example is John Walsh, whose young son Adam was so horribly murdered.  He has spent many years since working to find missing children, and to bring wanted criminals to justice.

Anyway, I found this article online and it’s really good, and isn’t real long.  But it speaks of anger as referenced in the Bible…righteous anger and unrighteous anger. I recommend it for anyone with their own questions about anger.

Bible Verses About Anger: 20 Scripture Quotes

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Anger Management

  1. Anger is difficult for anyone to handle but I do think when one is a Christian it’s an emotion that causes even more trouble for us to decide what to do with it or about it…Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I think you’re right, because there are a lot of things that are generally accepted in society to do with the anger, that go against Biblical principles too. In my situation, I just keep having to remind myself over and over, “Do I trust God, or don’t I?” If I trust Him, then I don’t have to worry or in any way, take matters into my own hands. Matter of fact, that’s the worst thing I could do. That’s difficult sometimes though.

  2. Josh Wiley says:

    Thanks Anne for this great piece and for including a link to What Christians Want To Know. I am the administrator there. Keep up your great work!

  3. lamehousewife says:

    You are part of the spiritual battle, sister. I have a couple definitions that are helpful to me: An emotion of warm displeasure demanding external expression in the infliction of punishment on the offender. To be angry in moderation and for a just cause is licit and often praiseworthy, for example, when parents are angered by their children’s faults. The capital sin of anger is committed when one gives way to an anger all out of proportion to the offence; this is a venial sin, but it may lead to mortal sins of blasphemy, scandal, etc., and when the punishment one wishes to inflict is immoderate, which is called revenge (A Catholic Dictionary by Attwater). An emotion which is not in itself wrong, but which, when it is not controlled by reason or hardens into resentment and hate, becomes one of the seven capital sins. Christ taught that it is against the 5th Commandment (Catechism). Here also is my own experience with those passionate emotions! God bless. http://lamehousewife.wordpress.com/2012/02/03/returning-from-exile-reflections-on-passion-anger-sadness-anxiety-the-heart-authentic-prayer-and-conversion-conclusion/

  4. AKGM says:

    Thanks for the great post! I agree that anger itself is not always a sin. In fact, I believe anger to be an emotion, and emotions to be something we experience, not something we do. It’s the things we think, say and act in response to our anger that are sins.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you AKGM. You’re right I think…it’s not the temptation itself that’s bad, but giving into the temptation in sinful ways. Blessings! –Anne

  5. Pingback: the common roots of anguish, angst, anxiety, anger, and arrogance « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

