The Fine Line


They say there’s a fine line between genius and insanity, and judging from what I’ve come to know about some very artistic, and very brilliant people past and present, I think it’s pretty true.  Even in terms of myself…singer/songwriter, poet, writer, artist (of sorts)…a creative type.  Yet I’ve never really made a name for myself with any of that…at least more than on a small level at times through the years.  And that’s okay with me.  As long as I can share it somehow.

Anyway, I digress somewhat.  The point of this is not me.  I’m certainly not a genius.  I’m intelligent, but some would say I very much lack common sense a lot of the time. 🙂

Anyway, I got to thinking over the last couple of days of people who are medicated that I know, for various mental illnesses, and how it seems to stifle some of their creativity.  So if it was you…if you thrived on your creativity, and yet struggled with the ability to live a normal life, which is more important?

In terms of myself, I am not on any kind of medication for depression or anything, and haven’t been for a very long time.  But I also have lost…or seem to have lost my creative flow with the music.  You have to understand, I have played piano since I was 5, (that would be 50 years now) and I love music.  I would sit at the piano for hours and play…sometimes just playing my heart in a way…maybe never to remember or write it down all the time.  But still, I no longer have that ability within me.  I can still sit and play, but it’s not there inside of me like it used to be.  And without whatever that was, it’s frustrating for me and I rarely play at all.  When I do, it’s only for maybe a half hour at the most and I’m done for months…frustrated.  I miss it.  If I knew that a pill was responsible for taking it away, I’m not altogether sure I’d want to take that pill anymore.  But I’m not sure I wouldn’t either, because speaking of the depression I’ve dealt with at times, it’s horrible.  The pills made it go away.

Anyway…I’m not sure I’m even coherent in this post right now.  I’ve been tired and not really myself lately.  But if it makes any sense to you, what do you think?  Would it be worth it to you?  Would you rather have your creativity, or your genius…or would you rather just be ‘normal’?

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Music, Opinions, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Fine Line

  1. Had to think about that one…I’ve never really been ‘creative’ so maybe hard to judge…but I think I would choose to enjoy life with the people I love rather than have only my creativity and be alone….Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Good point Diane. I didn’t think about it in terms of abandonment. But it does happen. Thanks for taking the time to answer. I think the more I’ve thought about it, the more I’d take the pill too. Depression is horrible. And even if people don’t abandon you, you tend to feel alone anyway.

  2. Okay Annie, here is my question?

    Does it have to be one or the other? Can’t you have creativity and be “normal”? Does creativity always have to be something outside of normal? What if creativity is normal? What if being creative is our natural state and being non-creative is the un-natural state?

    Just a thought.

    Be encouraged!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Oh yeah! Absolutely! I didn’t mean to suggest that creativity only exists among those who struggle in these ways. Of course, where ‘normal’ is concerned, I hate that word. I think none of us is ‘normal’ as that word would suggest sometimes. We all have our quirks or problems, etc. So I guess you could look at it that we’re either all normal, or none of us is. 🙂 And the medication doesn’t always stifle it, either. Sometimes it seems to with some people. So maybe this was just a bad question. LOL

      • Naw…no question is bad…you should read some of the ones I’ve asked…like the time I asked Susie if we needed to put the gas can in the barn so the gas wouldn’t freeze…or the time I asked why the blind man just didn’t learn sign language…see your question is starting to look like sheer genius now isn’t it? 🙂 🙂

        Be encouraged!

  3. Pingback: A Clarification | My Life Uncut…Almost

Leave a Reply

