A rose by any other name


What is it about kids, going through a stage where they don’t like their name anymore?  🙂  When I was young, I decided I didn’t like my name and wanted to be called Molly.  Now mind you, my name is very long, in reality.  Including my confirmation name, there were ten syllables, excluding my maiden surname.  My maiden name is a very short, one syllable name, which was much like the period at the end of a sentence.  But most people always called me Anne, or Annie.  Well, the elementary school principal, Mr. Hoy, was the only one who called me Antoinette…with his Texas accent of course.  🙂  I’d be walking down the hall at school and he’d pass me and say, “Hello Antanett.” 🙂  I’m not making fun of him.  He was very nice. (Well, he did have a paddle in his office with holes in it…OUCH!)  But I hated my long, drawn out name.

Now Grace has decided she doesn’t like her name.  She gets downright angry about the fact that there are so many songs and books with her name in them.  So she wants her name to be Amanda. 🙂

I heard once of a man (true story) who had his full name legally changed to Bubba Bubba Bubba.  Ooooooookay! 🙂

Did you ever want your name changed when you were a child?

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Making Fun of Me, Memoirs, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A rose by any other name

  1. Skye says:

    Indeed I did!! When I was in elementary school, I wanted to be named Katy after the protagonist in the book “What Katy Did”. Sometimes I’d introduce myself to other children as Katy when my parents dragged me to cricket matches or golf clubs! I grew out of that one eventually, and now I have a daughter named Katy, as you might be aware. 😉

    As you might also be aware, I decided as a teenager that I wanted to change my name to Skye. I didn’t like the way Americans pronounced the name Julia, and I hated even more people’s tendency to not notice or disregard the ‘a’ and the end and call me Julie instead… that’s a completely different name, I tell you! I did feel for Julie Andrews, reading about when she was a child and was required by her parents to take on her stepfathers surname (Andrews) for showbiz and change her name from Julia to Julie because Julie ‘sounded better’ with Andrews.

    Anyway, I started telling people at school my name was Skye. ‘Skye’ sounded like a cool person’s name, and it would be hard to get wrong! I’ve never officially changed my name, but the majority of people in my life now call me Skye.

    So, how come you’re not calling yourself Molly, Molly? 😀 Oh, and say hi to Amanda for me! 😉

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Ha ha ha! Yes, I might be aware of that! 🙂 Funny story too! And as it turns out, you do go by another name, to some of us, anyway. 🙂 I could never even imagine calling you by your real name. You’re definitely Skye! 🙂 xoxo ❤

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I missed a bunch of that message when I read it the first time! 🙂 Was reading it from the little notification thing and didn’t scroll down. Ha ha! And do I seem like a ‘Molly’ to you? If I do, you can always start calling me that! I will say hello to Amanda for you too. And say hello to Katy for me too, Julia! 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Huh oh! Grace just came downstairs for a minute and I told her you said to say hello to her, and called her ‘Amanda’. She said, “My name’s not Amanda!!” I said, “It’s not? What is it?” She said it’s Emily. It was going to be Amanda, but now it’s Emily. My bad! 🙂

  2. Skye says:

    Oh dear! Please apologize to Emily for my mistake!! 😀 😀
    I guess you don’t seem particularly like a Molly… perhaps a Gloria or a Miriam. 🙂

  3. I always wanted to go by my middle name – Ruth – however, I only used it for a pen name on some writings. 🙂

  4. lbtk says:

    At least it’s “Amanda” and not Chad Ochocinco (the football player who played for the Bengals at one time). His number was “85” and the sad thing about it is that “85” in Spanish is “ochenta y cinco!”

    Personally, I like my name (Sandra, but if you love me you call me Sandy) and always have. The only change I ever wanted to make was to be “Sandy Cassidy” (as in married to David) or “Sandy Osmond” (as in married to Donny). So just sign me off as Sandy Cassidy Osmond Rosser (the last one is really mine, LOL).

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Ha ha ha ha ha!!! 🙂 I wanted to be Anne Sherman (as in married to Bobby) and Anne Cassidy (same reason as you), myself. I liked Donny Osmond too, but never crushed on him. Too funny! 🙂

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    LOL.. funny post! Yes, name changing is rampant in my family. My one cousin changed it four times by the age of six I think. He finally stuck to one. For me, I changed my first name legally nine years ago and it’s been an interesting transition. It can be a real pain legally for documents and such, or when others insist on calling you by your old self. But all in all, it represents the change I found in myself (and a chance to duck away from my past). 😀

    Pink.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      🙂 It is definitely a pain nowadays to get it changed. Even when I married Ted and had my name changed, it was a pain. And with my social security number, the number on it was correct, but the person helping me had hit one wrong number entering it on something. So when we went to file taxes online, it kept saying my social was wrong! I had to go back to the office to have it corrected too, even though it was their mistake.

  6. wilmoth7 says:

    My name is Mary Elizabeth and I always hated Mary because my folks always called me Beth. But in school, the first day, and on all official documents, it was Mary. Now I don’t care. I can go either way if people don’t really know me and it is a one time thing. Grace, I hope will be proud of her name again one day. What an awesome name, like Faith and Hope. So cool.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I love that name…was so glad when Traci chose it for her. It was my piano teacher’s name too…she was a dear woman. I think Grace is just going through a stage right now though. I’m pretty sure she’ll realize one day what a great name she has. 🙂

Leave a Reply

