Imagine?


One of the most loved and beautiful songs ever written is John Lennon’s song, “Imagine”.  I was asked yesterday, by a fellow blogger on here, to imagine a world with no religion.  Hmmm.

In terms of ‘religion’ in the sense of all the rules and laws and bickering and disagreeing…and sometimes even evil and horrible acts committed in the name of religion, past and present and surely the future as well, I would love a world without all of that. But in terms of a world without my faith?  A world without the Christian faith that I know?  A world without that would be a horrible one to me…much worse.  Matter of fact, I would probably not be here right now.  I would’ve given up long ago.

The thing is, do people think that ‘evil’ exists only because of religion? That bad things only happen because of religion?  They would still exist without it, I think.  If there could be a world without the evil, it would be nice. I’ll go with that.  On the other hand, without pain and heartache and ‘rainy days’ in life…even ‘storms’ in life…how would we be able to appreciate the good days as much?  How would we really know what joy was, without sorrow to counter it?

My faith in God and Jesus Christ are truly the only thing in life that I can count on to never fail me.  People?  People will always fail me in ways.  God never has.  There have been times in my life when I thought He had failed me, and then found out later He had been there all the time and seen all the miraculous evidence of His presence through the dark days.  And for a long time now, I have known that even in the dark days He is still there…I don’t even doubt it anymore.

I can remember, years ago before I accepted Christ, and when I was in the throws of a deep depression, standing in front of the bathroom mirror with a bottle of pills and swallowing them, one by one.  As I stood there, watching myself swallow those pills in the mirror, I heard a clear, bold voice simply say, “NO!”  It was not an audible voice as if someone was in the room, but it was just as clear and distinguishable as if it had been.  And it was not the sound of my own voice.  And I stopped.  Shortly after that, I accepted Christ and my life changed forever.  And yes…I believe that voice I heard in my conscience that day was God’s voice.

I have experienced a lot of pain and heartache since that day.  I have lost people I loved because they left, and because they died.  I have had people betray me and hurt me in ways.  I have messed up in ways myself and caused heartache for myself and for others.  Through it all, the one, consistent, certain, undenyable thing that I have in my life is my God…my faith in Him…His love for me.  I can look forward to another life when this one is over that will be free of the pain and heartache…and I do look forward to that.

Imagine a world without the best and surest thing in my life? No way.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Imagine?

  1. Beautiful words and sentiments that I agree with wholeheartedly…Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Diane. I didn’t even have to think about it in terms of my own faith…no question it’s better than anything I could ever imagine. 🙂 –Anne

  2. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award « kyllingsara

  3. kyllingsara says:

    A reward sent your way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

