I just wanted to say…


To all of you out there who have loved and mothered children other than your own…those who have kids of your own and those who have none, Happy Mother’s Day.  You deserve to be honored just as much as anyone.  Thank you…if you’re filling in for someone while they work as a nanny, or while they serve in the armed forces…or for any reason, thank you and God bless you.

As for me, I am blessed…chocolates from my son, flowers from my eldest daughter, and a beautiful necklace and earrings from my youngest daughter.  Mostly, I am just thankful to have their love and could care less about getting gifts…they’re my gifts.  Each one of my children is unique and special and immensely loved…and the best thing is that they’re all loving, kind individuals and I’m proud of them.  And if this sounds really sappy and sentimental…tough! 😀  It had to be said.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Family, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I just wanted to say…

  1. lbtk says:

    So jealous about those chocolates, I must say. It has been a happy day here at the Rosser house. Sandy

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I used to know some Rossers, I think. My memory has gotten really bad. The chocolates are really yummy. 🙂 I had a good day too, and a nice nap this afternoon too! I was really exhausted. Glad you had a good day! –Anne

      • lbtk says:

        Anne, you get to share this FIRST because my daughter just brought me my Mother’s Day card. It was quite a lovely card, but she signed it “Love, Claire Rosser” as if I didn’t know or might be confused about which Claire was giving me a Mother’s Day card. Thought you could relate and appreciate.

        Kelly’s family is originally from Broadway, North Carolina. (The Rossers) They came from the Scottish highlands and were put on a barge that carried them up the Cape Fear River. At every stop, they would let a few off the boat and that is where they settled.

        That’s how his family settled in Fayetteville. Sandy

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Interesting! 🙂 Well I remember the name from somewhere, because my first husband’s last name was Rasor, and of course mine for many years until I met and married Ted 6 years ago. Seems like somewhere along the way in the Navy days (David was in the Navy for 20 years and we were all over the place during that time), we knew some Rossers. –Anne

Leave a Reply

