Helmet Hair Oblivion


Ha ha!  This picture is so funny to me.  I think it was taken on the day we were celebrating my grandparents’ 50th wedding anniversary.  That would’ve been in June of 1968.  I’m not positive about that, but I think that was the event for which I had gone to the beauty parlor. LOL  Note that only me and our dog Prince were smiling.  I was apparently oblivious to whatever was going on with everyone else.  Who knows…maybe it was them thinking, “We have to stand here next to this dumb helmet head in the dumb blue dress?” 🙂  I previously used the same original photo to create an abstract, Leaves and Louvres, because I had so much trouble correcting the photo to where I liked it.  But as you can see I tried again, and I don’t think it turned out too bad.

Steve, cousin Diane, Me and cousin John
June 1968?

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Family, Making Fun of Me, Memoirs, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Helmet Hair Oblivion

  1. Chrystal says:

    I laughed because it reminded me of some of my own pictures about that age. I sure wish I could change some of those! And I don’t mean “fix” them the way you did! HA! Some of mine are just totally embarrassing!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Ha ha ha! Well, as you can see, I have no shame. 🙂 I am completely willing to embarrass myself. LOL And it is embarrassing, but at the same time, I have been chuckling the whole morning thinking about this picture. Oh how we loved that dog too. Prince was awesome. I’m glad he’s in the pic too…at least his head. 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I laugh out loud every time I look at my brother Steve ( http://whenisapartynotaparty.wordpress.com/ ) there, all decked out in the style of the day. Ha ha!! 🙂 Those styles were funny…no question.

Leave a Reply

