I was thinking this morning of how there’s so much more under the surface with people, than what we see…than what they sometimes even want us to see. I had a friend many years ago who lived in our neighborhood, who when I would see her, always looked ‘stuck up’ and seemed rude and like she didn’t want to be bothered. I would smile and say hello anyway when I saw her, and it turned out as I got to know her that she wasn’t stuck up at all, as she had seemed. She was just incredibly shy. There’s so much in there, under the surface. Made me think of this poem I wrote previously at the request of my friend Skye, who had asked me to write a poem about facades. I don’t care how we ‘think’ we present ourselves honestly. We all still have something underneath that doesn’t show on the outside. Makes me think of that quote I’ve seen so often around Facebook, “Be kinder than necessary, everyone you see is fighting some kind of battle.” Have a good day…Anne

My Life Uncut...Almost

Facades

by Anne Sikes

I saw her smile a crooked smile

as she so often did

Her voice was bubbly, laughter wild

The sadness inside, hid.

I had to look behind the face

She wanted to appear

I had to look behind the eyes

And then I saw it clear.

The broken heart she tried to hide

The restless heart within

The pain inside her deep and wide

Though hid behind a grin.

I saw him walk inside the bar

A burly, tough old bloke.

He looked right past the bartender

And just said, “Rum and coke.”

I watched him closely as he sat

And had himself a few

Our eyes met and I smiled and asked,

“Hello there, how are you?”

He smiled a crooked, tough old smile,

And looked me in the eye.

“What’s it to you?”,  sarcastically,

Was his only reply.

I had to look behind the…

View original post 72 more words

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. Anne Sikes says:

    Reblogged this on 20 LINES A DAY – an exercise in discipline and commented:

    I did this as a challenge for my friend Skye, who asked me to write a poem about facades. It’s actually one of my favorite poems that I wrote, so thought I’d share it again on here. Blessings! –Anne

Leave a Reply

