For my best friend


Dear Skye Blue

 

How do I say how thankful I am for you?

Even when we don’t talk as much sometimes

You are held deep within a special place

In my heart.

Over ten years ago it’s been

Since we ‘met’, here upon the internet.

You were the first one,

kind hearted soul that you are

To reach out and welcome me.

Now of course,

We’ve spent much time together,

Shared many hugs and much laughter

Many tears too.

You’ve seen me at my best

And my worst

And loved me through every bit of it.

I played for your wedding reception,

A highlight of my life.

And I sniffled as you took your vows.

Proud, sentimental ‘big sister’.

You’ve been proud of me

And exasperated with me too.

And I can say the same about you, of course.

It’s really quite odd

When you think about it.

You’re much younger than I

And we come from such different worlds.

Yet, you’re my ‘little sister’,

And I love you so.

We don’t share the same beliefs on politics

Or religion

Or so many things.

Yet we are kindred spirits all the same.

I could never begin to tell you

How dear you are to me.

I thank God for you,

Dear Skye Blue

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Family, Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For my best friend

  1. jeglatter says:

    Oh, a true friend…nothing better!!!
    -Jennifer

  2. terry1954 says:

    Anne, that is beautiful,,,,,,,ooooooooo the words. love it

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Terry. Skye is special…no one like her. I’m a lucky lady to have her for a friend. 🙂 We met on author Torey Hayden’s discussion board all those years ago, which Torey has since closed. She still has her website, just not the discussion board. Anyway, a friendship ensued on there for awhile, and then we exchanged phone numbers. Then she came here to visit me for a weekend at the house I used to have before I met Ted and moved away. After she left, I found little notes that she had left all over…just little special notes, in the freezer, under the pillow in the room where she had stayed, various places. 🙂 We’ve been back and forth to see each other several times since. I consider her family.

Leave a Reply

