What do I care?


I don’t know why it’s so important to me sometimes, more than others.  What is it about a person that would draw you to feel some sort of ‘need’ to make them see…more than maybe someone else?  I have no clue.  I don’t even know this guy…Arkenaten.  I don’t even know, to be real, anything at all about this person.  It could be someone totally trying to play games.  It could be someone totally different than is portrayed on here.  I mean, this is the internet.  And this is the real world we’re living in here, where people like to have fun sometimes by messing with other people. 🙂

I just don’t think so in this case.  And for whatever reason, I care very much…as if this is a person that was my family or something.  I don’t even know how old he is, but the feeling I have is as if I was talking to my own son.  Does that make me crazy?  If I really and genuinely care like I do about a person, and they laugh about that or don’t appreciate it (I don’t know that…don’t know what’s in the heart of that person…only the words on the page), should I just ‘shake the dust off my feet’ and move on?  Aren’t we supposed to care about those who are lost, if we truly believe that not believing is = to being lost?  Aren’t we commanded to do so, in fact?

Anyway…just throwing those things out there, and also want to ask a favor.  I want to ask my Christian friends to present your best arguments here for the existence of God, and why you’re convinced that He is the God of the Bible.  Why do you believe?

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to What do I care?

  1. Bird says:

    I think that Isaiah’s prophecy of Jesus (Isa. 53) was the single most instrumental argument in favor of God. I see a symmetry in the bible that translates to the earth around me. It is so hard to put into words why I know Him…It is like the wind. I have never seen the wind, but I can see all that the wind touches, and I can feel the wind on my skin. I feel the same about God. I feel Him. I see what He does around me and in my own life. I can feel His voice inside of me.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I know what you mean about feeling His presence, Bird…He’s there around us in so many ways. When you ‘get it’, it’s so difficult to understand why others can’t. Thank you for your response! Love you and appreciate you much!!

    • arkenaten says:

      There is no symmetry in the bible. It is a hash job of poor redaction, with a theological/political motive.
      Why was the Gospel of Thomas not included?

      • Anne Sikes says:

        Ha ha! Is there one that was excluded? 🙂 I just got home from getting my granddaughter and walking one of her friends home. Don’t have time to respond to you, but had some closing arguments to make to you…so to speak. Will do so in awhile if possible, but may not be able to until either late tonight or tomorrow. 3D life calls, including (oh horrors) church tonight where I can take my granddaughter so she can be further indoctrinated into the madness that I adhere to. 😉

        • arkenaten says:

          I believe they have done away with collection plates at church these days and now send a supermarket trolly down the isles with the cry “Even God suffers from inflation.”
          Is this true, or have I been lied to…again?

        • arkenaten says:

          Oh, PS.
          I shall say a prayer (sic) for your granddaughter: that she sees the light…

      • Anne Sikes says:

        The church I attend doesn’t pass a collection plate at all, or even mention wanting money. They accept offerings, but you actually have to seek where to put them when you want to give, and guess what? They never have a problem with money there. It’s a good church too.

        • arkenaten says:

          Offerings, eh?
          So I could leave a cheese sandwich in lieu of a few bucks?
          When you say it’s a good church do you mean architecturally? he churches I occasionally attended as a young man/boy were pretty draughty, and the pews were hell on my backside. I couldn’t even catch forty winks.

        • Anne Sikes says:

          It’s not in a traditional looking church…no pews, but rather chairs. It’s a pretty new church, not sure how many years, but I don’t think more than 5, and is non-denominational.

        • arkenaten says:

          A new church. Cor…who pays for the building?
          PS. Here’s a site you might find interesting. http://www.jesusneverexisted.com/

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Ark…give it up. Admit you’re just duped. You can’t convince a person that someone doesn’t exist that the person knows. Yeah…I know…I couldn’t possibly know him…you have the evidence that completely blows that out of the water. I can’t offer you pictures of me with him…or any kind of evidence that would be proof to you that what I’m telling you is the truth. You’re convinced by the lies you choose to believe. That’s your choice. God doesn’t zonk us over the head and force any of us. 🙂 I don’t know what happened to you…but I’d wager that something did. There’s some bad experience in your ‘church background’, or something in your life that you need to blame on a God that doesn’t exist…or something. But I know one thing. You have never known taken the step of faith that I did for some reason, which led to my ‘epiphany’. You may never. If there was anything I could do to convince you, I would. But I can’t…it’s up to you if you ‘really’ want to know the truth. And if you don’t…if you want to continue to believe what you’re so convinced is the truth, as I said…that’s your choice. I still care like I said I did before, whether you do or not…but I am wasting my time going in circles with you.

  2. great comment Bird!
    I am tempted sometimes to just talk about my subjective feeling about God especially when it come to defending what makes me believe… but we can objectively defend the faith as well. For example… creation – “The heavens declare the glory of the Lord”… faith is the ‘substance’ of things hope for… “the ‘evidence’ of things not seen… as in the book of hebrews.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      That’s it exactly…that ‘proof that’s in the pudding’, so to speak. It is when we take the step of faith that our eyes are opened. Thank you so much for your response! 🙂

  3. Chrystal says:

    Anne, you are such a good person. I love that you care about him so much when all he shows is hatred and/or derision. I am not there yet. God is teaching me & showing me things about myself & what He wants of me but I’ve a long way to go. So for YOU…and others who may be RECEPTIVE, I do this.

    I’ve lived with God and without Him. My life without Him was not bad, I have to admit. But it was unfulfilling. Empty. Although I still worry more than I should & struggle with fear, He has given me a peace beyond my understanding. I am not perfect (far from it) but He makes me want to be better – to be more like Him. I see His creation – the varieties of flowers, the colors of sunsets, the intricacies of even our bodies – and wonder how anyone can think this was an accident. That this just happened without a design. Yes, the Bible has some stories that defy logic. But I really do not worry about that. Although the Bible was God-breathed, it was “transcribed” and “translated” by humans, just like us. Humans who just can’t grasp something so beyond our small minds. God is so far beyond us…no matter how “smart” someone thinks they are. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I love this…thank you! And nobody is perfect. You called me good in this…and I’m no more so than anyone. I have my good and my bad aspects I suppose, but mostly, any good in me is from above. But what you say here…I don’t understand either how people can look at all of creation and not see God in it. Some want some sort of concrete proof…how much more concrete could the proof of an intelligent Creator be? I mean, it was after having faith that the proof truly came…but I always knew, or sensed Him in ways. Thank you for your comment, and God bless! –Anne

      • Chrystal says:

        When I said that you were good about caring about him & wanting to make him see, it’s acknowledgement that you are following Christ’s lead in loving others. And the acknowledgement that I’m TRYING but it’s so challenging to me. Because my initial thoughts about Arkenaten were basically the same as Steven’s…but you’re reminding that it’s not MY place to judge. It’s also a “God thing” here because it’s exactly what He is working on me about at this moment! 🙂 In fact, I started the process of writing God’s Glasses Part 2 on Monday but just haven’t had enough time to finish it – our sermon Sunday was about loving others/good Samaritan. I’m still kinda processing what God is talking to me about…So I LOVED this post & how it’s convicting me & helping me process it! So you’ll probably see some of these same words on my next post. 🙂

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Thank you Chrystal! 🙂 You’ve put a smile on my face, and I appreciate your kind words very much. 🙂 And I’ll look forward to your God’s Glasses Part 2! Blessings! –Anne

  4. This may not be much of an argument– but I would have to ask how anyone could look at any living thing on this planet and not believe there is a God?

  5. Steven says:

    I believe Jesus…. when he said “no one comes to me except the Father draws them”. As for Arkenaten, there is a certain “mocking of Christ” going on. Rebuke that evil spirit and “cast not your pearls before swine” goes perfectly as far as what I read of his comments. No amount of “arguments and proofs” will convert an evil spirit. That’s just my opinion, but seek council of the Holy Spirit. Shalom

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Steven. I don’t feel the evil there…sometimes with people I do. Like you say though, nobody comes to Jesus unless the Father draws them and ropes them in!! 🙂 Thank you so much for your comment! Blessings –Anne

  6. terry1954 says:

    for me, i have no choice but to believe in god. he is my savior, my comforter, my protector. if i don’t have him with me daily, i don’t even want to think about the inevitable. I love reading the Psalms

    • Anne Sikes says:

      The Psalms are so great…I relate so much to them too. And yes…when you have Jesus, he is your everything, really. Praying for you and Al, my friend. Blessings –Anne

  7. solingenpoet says:

    I think experience is the key for me. While we are called to ‘walk by faith and not by sight’ it is also true that at times our faith is inspired by an overwhelming sense of the reality of God. I know God is real because i know him!!!! The Holy Spirit reveals Christ to us – so if anyone doubts just ask the Lord to show you Himself. He will reveal the truth to you during prayer and/or through the bible or preaching and teaching. There can be ‘fly-on-the-wall’ type encounters where people you meet may speak a word to you that brings about total illumination. Whatever, and however it happens if a person is earnestly seeking, God will reveal himself!!!!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Yes!! That’s what I told Ark, too…that if he truly seeks God, he’ll find Him. And when God is revealed to us, there is simply no denying Him. Thank you so much! Blessings –Anne

  8. kyllingsara says:

    I believe because I feel it. That’s all there is to it really. 🙂

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Amen…thank you Sara. You are such a blessing, and will be such a witness for the reality of God with what he has done and will do in your life. God bless you!! –Anne

  9. Anne Sikes says:

    Thanks for your responses everyone. The proof God comes after you believe. But I know He can use the testimonies of us too, to draw people to Him…so that’s why I was asking for this. Not because there is any way possible to satisfy what is being specifically asked for. But because even so, God can use anything He wants to. Thanks again for your responses, and God bless!

  10. Good question Anne, Actually in process redoing my blog motto and its call JUST BELIEVE. Actualy working on a song to go with it. I must say I’m living proof, without him I wouldnt be here like many others. Everytime I go in the hospital whose to say I’ll come back out? Even if I don’t come back it just means it was my time to go and be with him. I could say so much on this topic. I never imagine I could touch so many lives with my blogging and I have. God Bless You! You truly have a caring heart!

    How can’t you believe. You wake up every morning, to be with your love one’s. He give us so many times to come to him, and some still deny him.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you, and I’ll pray for you with your health struggles. You most definitely are a witness, and such an encouragement with your blog. God bless you!! –Anne

  11. arkenaten says:

    Smile! A post for moi? Anne, I am touched. ( some would say, in the head!)
    Sigh, if you want to find out a little more about me then simply ask.

    Or, you could click on the widget on my blog – the one with the black cat.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Ah! Okay…you actually look like a nice guy (go figure!)…family guy and all too! Certainly not a ‘son figure’ though, as I was thinking of you in my odd little brain…I’m old…but not THAT old. Ha ha! 🙂

      • arkenaten says:

        There you go, then. Atheists are real people too….or at least we appear so to the outside world.
        But when the lights go down….ah…then it’s off to the Wee Coven to ritually sacrifice some animal or something, listen to Cliff Richard records backwards, and plan the downfall of the human race.

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Believe it or not, you’re not the only atheist I know…or the only one I speak to! I’m a very daring sort. And remember, my own child was a professed atheist for awhile…she adamantly professed atheism too. She saw the light, and I know there’s hope for you too. She saw it though, when she took that step of faith all alone in the quiet one night. She was grown and not living at home at the time, so wasn’t under my spell or anything. And it changed her life forever.

          • arkenaten says:

            Well, each to his or her own. I have no need of faith in religion, and having researched the bible find it largely false and contrived. It is factually innacurate, spurious, and in some cases very poorly written.
            Moses was a murderer, Joshua, too.
            The exodus is nonsense and have been shown to be so. FDeel free to ask…
            The gospels are pure fiction pasted over an historical pastiche
            Give me Roald Dahl any day.
            As least his fiction one can laugh at and he doesn’t try to pass his fantasies off as fact.

            • Anne Sikes says:

              I hope God grabs you by the ear and pulls you like the rebellious kid that you are, and sits you down and teaches you the error of your ways. Symbolically, of course. You’re a very stubborn man. You’re wasting your breath on me though…I have seen the light…and you have as much as told me that no I didn’t. I gave you reasons for my belief…and you said those weren’t my reasons…but that the fact was that I was indoctrinated by my parents as a child. So…there’s nothing I can say to you, ‘Sir Hard-Head’.

            • arkenaten says:

              Your epiphany was very real to you, and who am I to tell you it wasn’t?
              But if you are going to continue to try to prove that it is real – to everyone -based on the bible, then I am afraid you are shooting the breeze, Anne.
              The bible is man made.
              And when you truly know how it was put together you will realise how silly the notion of ‘God inspired’
              really is.
              No, I won’t convince you -any more tha you could ever convince me the veracity of the bible.

              But once you investigate it, (and those who compiled it – and Constantine) purely to find the truth in it, then you will see it for what it really is.
              But if the notion of being saved is good for you, then so be it.
              Be blessed and be happy.

Leave a Reply

