I want to be loved


The Heat of Your Touch
by Anne Sikes

Isn’t that what we all want, in the end?  Someone who will really love us?  I mean…to choose us, not settle for us…to cherish us and not tolerate us.  I want that.  I know God loves me that way.  But sometimes you want skin.  God Himself created me with that longing.  So it’s not wrong to feel that way…I know it’s not.  And I’m not even talking about a sexual thing, though He created us to long for that too.  It’s someone with whom you look in each others eyes and smile just because you love each other.  It’s someone with whom you hold hands, or cuddle and watch a movie together, or listen to music…someone you cook dinner with and argue about what spices to put in dinner…someone who your heart leaps with happiness when they walk in the door. 🙂 

As for the issue of sex, Song of Solomon in the Bible is one of the most overlooked books in studies, and it’s a very sensual book.  I think people are uncomfortable approaching it sometimes because of that.  Yet, they’ll pull out their romance novels or the like.  I think it’s just that in terms of God, we think sex is still a dirty topic that we mustn’t talk about in front of God. Ha ha…I laugh at that.

But…although I laugh at it, I don’t want to go in depth about it myself.  I blush just typing what I have.

Anyway…that’s what’s on my mind today.  And dinner, which is cooking and I have to go tend to.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Christianity, Faith, journal, Photography, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I want to be loved

  1. Have you ever through of turning these wonderful paintings into an art quilt? I think if you painted them onto fabric, and then stitched them into a quilt with some feather stitching or something like that they would even be more awesome. You have such an amazing talent! Move over Thomas Kincade, I think I just found my new favorite artist! You could even embroider the name of the painting onto the quilt for a special touch. You amaze me, gifted in words and art, and I can see the hand of God has inspired you!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Oh thank you! That’s a good idea…except they’re not painted. They’re done with photoshop on the computer. I take photographs and turn them into art with the Adobe Photoshop program. I still could do what you said though, I think. Maybe even a quilt where I used various ones for the squares. Or I suppose I could create a pattern for crochet based on the images. I know I’d like to print some out and frame them. This was one of my favorites that I did though…it looks kind of like a fingerprint. Thus, the name I chose for the image. Thank you again!

      • But you can still print them on fabric, poster size, which would be 4 sheets of 8 1/2 by 11, and seam them together than quilt them. It would be beautiful! State fair quilt exhibits, Paducah quilt show…they would be beautiful used in a series of art quilts. I love them!

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Thank you!! And thanks for the great idea! 🙂

          • Your welcome…I can feel God in that imagery you create, and in my mind’s eye, I can see that quilt as it would be finished…that tells me you have a true gift from God to use for his Kingdom.

            • Anne Sikes says:

              Thank you very much! That means a lot to me. I stopped doing the abstracts for a long time, and have only recently started occasionally doing them again. Most of the ones I’ve posted on here are ones that I did 2 or 3 years ago.

            • Well, I’m personally glad you are doing it again. Those pictures have such spirit about them. I see the Rapture in one, and the arm of God reaching to hold us close in the other. They are beautiful Anne!

  2. terry1954 says:

    i want that too Anne! maybe some day when God thinks it is ok. I used to look and search but i have come to the conclusion that God wants me to care for my brother for now

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I know and trust that His way is perfect, even though I admit I’m not always perfectly content. But I do trust Him. I think you’re probably right that you’re where you need to be for now, but I pray you’ll find that love too. 🙂

  3. kyllingsara says:

    I belive touch is a form of communication that is just as importand as words. Without the touch of another human being one would simply wither into nothing. As far as the sex thing goes, it’s a complicated area for me, but all the more an important one. This is one of the areas where I feel the need to reclaim it the most.

    Everyone has a need to feel love from another person. To be that “someone special” in someone else’s life. I believe you will find what you are longing for.

    Sara

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Yes, there have been studies where they’ve shown a difference in the health of babies who were touched and held and loved, and ones who were only given basics like being fed, changed and bathed. Not sure just how they conducted those studies…but I find them cruel of themselves. And as for the sex being complicated for you…I can understand how that is. It takes time to heal the layers of hurt associated with that. Be gentle with yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

