The hope that is in me, and agreeably disagreeing


First of all, I want to say that I appreciate some of you coming on here last night in defense of me during some of the discussions that were going on yesterday on here.  And I was truly humbled this morning to get up and find a post by an atheist who was defending me and said some really kind things in my defense on a post on her own page that moved me to tears. http://kyllingsara.wordpress.com/

I really don’t mind the discussions, and they didn’t upset me at all.  I actually think they’re good, and I don’t just mean good in the sense of the opportunity to share my faith with someone who doesn’t believe.  But they’re also good in the sense of challenging me to defend my faith.  It’s way too easy if I’m only having the discussions with people who believe the same as me.  Its the discussions with people who disagree that can be a test in a way.

Not going to go on about it, but I’m glad for those conversations with Arkenaten, and as I said, wasn’t offended by them.  I think he knows that.  But I still was humbled and appreciative that some of you came to my defense regarding that one particular post about my mother, and the propriety of a comment there.  Thanks for caring about me that much.  I genuinely appreciate it.

These verses pretty much sum up how I feel about defense of my Christian faith, and my approach.

Why I care so that I would continue the discussion on “is there a God or isn’t there” to begin with:

Proverbs 9:10

King James Version (KJV)

 10The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.

How I try to approach these discussions (and yeah, I get frustrated and angry sometimes too…so am not perfect at this, by any means):

1 Peter 3:14-16

King James Version (KJV)

 14But and if ye suffer for righteousness’ sake, happy are ye: and be not afraid of their terror, neither be troubled;

 15But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:

 16Having a good conscience; that, whereas they speak evil of you, as of evildoers, they may be ashamed that falsely accuse your good conversation in Christ.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Opinions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The hope that is in me, and agreeably disagreeing

  1. oneanna65 says:

    Love and Blessings.

Leave a Reply

