Something That We Do


Love…probably the most craved thing by humans, and the most written about topic in songs and poetry.  I was thinking about that Clint Black song, “Something That We Do”…love that song.  One of the lines is, “Love isn’t someplace that we fall, it’s something that we do.”  I find this to be very true.

Except in the case of arranged marriages, which do still exist in places, love is usually based on physical or emotional attraction…really both a lot of the time, I think.  We’re looking for that feeling of being in love that overwhelms us and makes us feel all tingly and wonderful inside…what Thumper in “Bambi” called being ‘twitterpated’.   Being twitterpated is a wonderful feeling. 🙂  But true love is so much more than that.  When you really get down to it, within a committed relationship, there are just going to be times when that feeling isn’t there.  Partly its because when you’re living together in the same house, you’re going to do and say things that irritate each other, or even downright make you angry from time to time.  Those things, if they become what’s dwelt upon, can really mess up a good relationship.  At the end of the day, the cap off the toothpaste, a towel left on the floor, loud snoring, an unmade bed or things like that…they just don’t matter.  I mean, if one day you wake up and that person’s not there…are those things going to really matter?

Sometimes there are bigger issues that come up though…issues like financial difficulties, illness of one or the other, etc.  Those things can really tear a relationship to shreds, if you do not make the choice to keep loving that person.  Because in the end, love is not just a feeling…it’s a choice.  It’s choosing to accept that person for their strengths, and in spite of their differences, and to love them through it.  It’s treating them with gentleness and kindness even when you’d rather slap them up the side of the head sometimes…gently helping them become better in areas of weakness, and cherishing them for the strengths.  It’s being willing to admit when you make a mistake or do or say something  you shouldn’t have, to apologize, and if the other person has done something to hurt or offend you, being willing to forgive them and let it go.

I don’t know.  What would make me think I know anything about love?  When it comes down to it I’m a loser in that department.  But am I?  I think of the famous line from the movie “Forrest Gump”, that says, “I may not be a smart man, Jenny, but I know what love is.”  Well, like Forrest, I know what love is.  And sometimes it is work.  The wonderful, ‘twitterpated’ feelings will come and go, and if you survive the harder and more unkind times, that love will be come solid and strong and rooted deeply. 

Yes, some may say I’m just a loser in love.  But I still believe in its existence…in the existence of true, nurturing, bonding love that lasts. 

And now maybe I’ll go somewhere and cry. 🙂  But I’ll smile through my tears as I listen to this wonderful song.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, Music, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Something That We Do

  1. cclody says:

    Powerful and so real. Thank you for your post and as Clint sings,” Love is not something we say.. somewhere we fall, it’s something that we do.” Cry if you must Anne, but remember you shared loved today.
    God is near,
    Chris

  2. Anne Sikes says:

    Reblogged this on My Life Uncut…Almost and commented:

    Just because a person is aging in numbers…doesn’t mean we don’t still crave that kind of love…the committed relationship and companionship, yes…but the ‘twitterpated’ feelings too. I’m feeling particularly sad and lonely tonight, and like I need to just accept and get used to the fact that I will be alone for the rest of my life. I don’t want to be alone. I still crave that true love that keeps you warm even on the coldest night. I want to know what it’s like again…it’s been so long…since someone looked in my eyes even when I was tired and hair a mess…looked at me with that look that says, “You’re beautiful and I love you.” Someone who still thinks I’m beautiful with greying hair and age showing more and more. I’m being painfully honest right now. It’s one of my faults, some say. But there you go…where is that someone who will look past my faults rather than point them out to me…or maybe even not see them as faults but as strengths? So I will go on in the kitchen and cook dinner for my girls, who I know love me. No…it’s not the same. But I am thankful I have that right now. We’ll sit to dinner and talk about our highs and lows, and laugh. Then we’ll go to our corners and go to sleep. And tomorrow will be yet another day.

Leave a Reply

