Life on Mars…or Venus, or some strange planet somewhere


Life on Mars
by Anne Sikes

Some people have a life, full of activities and places to go…things to do…laughter and fun.  And other people write about it. 🙂 Right now, I seem to be the latter.  I love to write.  But I love a lot of things, and I have participated in life through the years in many interesting ways other than just writing about it.  Right now I am often within these 4 walls.  That is my life.  Is that bad? 

Well…it is definitely not usually so healthy to stay enclosed too much in one space, with your own thoughts.  I definitely think that’s true.  As a matter of fact, the more I do it, the more difficult it becomes to leave the confines of the four walls.  They seem to just sort of close up around me and bind me in at times.

What makes a person of worth, though?  What makes a person valuable?  If, confined within these walls, out of my own choosing I simply lie around and watch television…go to bed and sleep, do nothing at all…I suppose then I’m not of much value.  But if I do what I can within the circumstances I find myself in…such as sitting in front of this computer even through a lot of the time, and writing…reading…talking to y’all on here, then I don’t think that’s worthless.  And certainly if I take the time in the midst to draw closer to God, rather than to draw more inside myself…it’s of great benefit.  Truthfully, sometimes I think he will if necessary, place us in a spot where there’s nowhere to turn other than to look to Him.  God wants our attention, and not because He’s needy or something, but because He desires good for us and because He loves us.

Even such as my life is right now, I know and am so thankful that I am loved by God…accepted of Him.  Sometimes I ask, “What are you doing with me, God?…won’t you please hurry up?”  Sometimes I don’t like the ‘cage’ I’m in at the moment.  And yet in this ‘cage’ is where I am forced to rely on Him to meet my needs.  I listen for His voice and am happy when I hear it.  And I believe that when the time is right in His eyes, He’ll let me out of the cage and let me fly.

Sometimes there are things people can do to change their situation, but they just don’t do it.  And sometimes, for some reason, that’s not the case.  Any attempt at changing things is met with a stone wall.  But I know that God is using what I’m doing here…even here in this little blog.  I’ve had blogs before, and never before have they grown to be what this one has grown to be in a very short time.  And that’s not because I’m so wonderfully excellent somehow…it boggles my mind why it is!  My daughter asked me jokingly the other day, “Why are people so interested in what you say?” Ha ha…I guess because this must be where I’m supposed to be, is the only thing I can figure.

Through it all, He never abandons me. I may flutter around in the ‘cage’ sometimes, wanting to get out, during this long waiting period I’m in.  But I always settle down and continue to wait on the one who loves me and takes care of me.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Blogging, Christianity, Faith, journal, Music, Photography, Random Thoughts, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Life on Mars…or Venus, or some strange planet somewhere

  1. terry1954 says:

    i could relate to this. since i am more homebound with my brother, i find it harder to get out. it is like my comfort zone is right here within these four walls

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I thought of you and your brother as I was typing that too…not just y’all, but as I was thinking about what gives someone worth, your situation crossed my mind. Your brother, such as his life is…he has worth still. You know? His life is of value. And yours most definitely is too. Blessings –Anne

  2. cclody says:

    Certainly you have great value “in” or “out” of the cage. Thank you for sharing your heart.
    He Lives,
    Chris

  3. Bird says:

    This was absolutely beautiful and I can totally relate!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I thought you might! Although I confess that it was somewhat just babbling, as I do from time to time…just trying to gather my own thoughts together in some way that makes sense. Thanks for commenting, Bird…and hope you’re having a good Tuesday. 🙂

  4. Steven says:

    I can totally relate as well! Must be something we are waiting for? 🙂 Shalom

Leave a Reply

