Stepping Stones


My Hard Heart Still Bleeds
by Anne Sikes

STEPPING STONES

by Anne Sikes

My heart was not a stepping stone

To lead to higher ground

I meant it as a resting place

A place to linger ’round.

 

Your heart was not a stepping stone

I didn’t think it so

I thought it was my resting place

A safe place I could go.

 

Life is full of stepping stones

I know that to be true

I never did suspect they were

The hearts of me and you.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stepping Stones

  1. timzauto says:

    Anne …wow this has capture my thoughts , it is so beautifully written …you have so much talent ,..I always look forward to your posts….

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you so much Tim. I appreciate that. I look forward to yours too! 🙂 You have a way of leaving us hanging. LOL That’s good though! Keep ’em comin’ back for more. He he!

Leave a Reply

