Into the Light


Into the Light
by Anne Sikes

Take me into your light, Lord. 

I ache, and I’m weary.

Hide me in the shadow of your wings.

This is my psalm to you tonight.

I know that’s alright.  It’s what you want.

You want my honesty…my raw heart.

You see anyway.  No need to hide from you…

And I don’t want to hide from you.

I know that I’m not as those without hope.

I will always hope in you.

I trust you.

You have shown me many times, your love and your faithfulness.

But right now I’m tired, Lord.  Please don’t delay

I love you, my Lord.

I know you have a purpose…all things work together for good…

But I wish I knew what you were doing with me and why.

Still…I trust you always.

Thank you for the answers I know will come,

I’ll be here waiting.

Please hurry.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Christianity, Faith, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Into the Light

  1. cclody says:

    “Still…I trust …”
    Hold onto that Anne.
    God is near,
    Chris

    • Anne Sikes says:

      So true, and I do. Thank you. My family is coming under heavy artillery right now in many ways. And in some ways it feels like I’m stuck in a trench and there’s no way out right now except to take cover and keep firing back with God’s promises etched in my heart. There are blessings coming, most certainly, and right behind them are intense difficulties coming at a ratio of about 3 to 1. Much more than I discuss on here. But through it all, my faith brings me a warmth deep inside that even when everything else grows icy cold around, that fire will not go out. So thankful to God for the answers He’s already brought, as well as the wonderful ways I know He will bring us out of the rest of it. He is my strength and my shield. Thank you so much, and God bless you!! –Anne

      • cclody says:

        For you Anne…

        God Is Near

        Lost and alone
        Brokenhearted…
        I reach for a peace I cannot see.
        Through this darkness
        And misery,
        I’m aware of a God near to me.

        Invisible
        Distant from sight
        Like colors beyond a rainbow’s pale
        Yet seen through trust
        Amazingly
        Like Grace, He fills my rain-sodden sails.

        No longer will I be alone
        No longer will I doubt His Word
        My chains now loose and fallen free
        No longer are my cries unheard

        My God is near
        Forever close
        And holds me through hands my God has lead
        One in Spirit
        And moved by love
        We’re all but crumbs from one loaf of bread.

        By Chris Clody 10/1/09

  2. terry1954 says:

    this so touched my heart. thank u for sharing with me

  3. Thank you Anne…I believe you just filled my night with the light of Christ.

    Be encouraged!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Stephen! 🙂 That’s actually one of my favorite abstracts that I did. When I look at it (the larger version) it does make me have the feeling that I’m going towards a light.

  4. I love this absolutely!!! You never know the.feelings & emotions you go through when your health seems to be fading before your very eyes and you’re still a youngster at 54! Although life isn’t guarnteed to last nor is it without mountains to climb; it is just life-so make the most of it each day, tell & show those that you love each chance you get, live like there is no tomorrow as there just might not.be! Do not miss yesterdays, they are.gone; live it, love it, laugh in it TODAY & Thank God for the life you’ve been given!!!

Leave a Reply

