Closer


Last night I was reading a post of a wonderful fellow blogger.   http://mrkstevenson.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/brokenness-the-missing-link-to-holiness/  This fellow is 17, and I love reading his wonderful blog.  I encourage you to check it out.

Anyway, in a response to me in the comments, he said, “…it’s amazing how you have such an intimate relationship with God!”  My reaction to that was one of a deep realization of where I’m at in my relationship with God right now…and it’s not as intimate as I have had.  It’s moreso than I have had at other times however.  Maintaining a deep relationship with God requires discipline, and it requires taking your focus off of all of the outside forces that want to draw your attention away.  It requires not just talking to God…or ‘at’ God, as often is really all we do, but it requires communication with Him.  And truthfully…I’m not there at the moment…not like I have been and like I know I could be.  And not only that, but there have been times where my focus has barely been on God…and I haven’t been seeking Him and His guidance…I’ve been looking to other things or people, and making them the lords of my life instead.  My walk with God has been one where I was walking along, expecting that He was by my side, but paying very little attention to him as we were traveling along.

I want to write more about this topic, but have to get ready for an appointment that I have later this morning, and don’t have adequate time to go into the depth I’d like to.  But maybe that’s okay.  Maybe it’s okay if rather than going in too much depth with my own thoughts and Scripture references and all…I just keep it simple, and ask that you pray for God’s guidance, and then search the Scriptures yourself regarding this. Search to see what the relationships with Biblical figures were, and what elements of them were they that made them more intimate.  See what God says about wanting fellowship with us…’fellowship’…think about what that is.

In short, God doesn’t want us to just go to him with our problems and list them off.  He doesn’t just want us to read His Word and think about it a bit, and talk about it a bit…His Word can be so much more than that, and so can prayer.

Have you ever had a friend or loved one who, when you sit down to talk to them, all they do is talk about themselves?  All they do is go through what’s going on with them…maybe occasionally ask for help with something that they need…but it’s sort of just all about them?  And when you want to say something to them, they’re not really interested or don’t have time?  But isn’t that how we are with God a lot of the time?  We ‘believe’ He’s there…but we just sort of talk at him and not WITH him.  We don’t ‘listen’ to Him, because we’re not expecting Him to say anything.  We can’t see him sitting there in the room.

But the thing is, He is there.  And this part…this is the part where I have been, and where I want to be again, if I can quit letting the distractions of the world get in my way and draw my focus on other things.  If you first of all, go to God in prayer, really SEEKING His presence…I guarantee He is there, and you will find Him.  If you can let yourself believe…truly believe that He can talk to you…that it doesn’t all have to be a one sided conversation…He will do so.  And no…I’m not talking about hearing His audible voice…but you’ll know it when you do ‘hear’ it.  I know that much.  You have to seek Him, knowing He is real and believing that He wants ‘communication’ with you…not just to hear your problems, or even your somewhat empty praises.

I have been there before.  And I am closer now than I have been in a little while to that place, but not fully there…and that’s my fault entirely.  Ha ha…whose fault would it be other than my own?  God’s?  I mean…if you’re in one of those conversations with a loved one I was talking about, and when they’re talking to you, you’re watching something on television, or mentally going over something else in your mind that you want to say next, or that you need to do or whatever…you’re not listening to them…you’re not going to hear them.  You’re the one who is not really ‘there’ in the conversation.  As for God…He is there.

So many promises in the Bible that God has given us…but look at them.  They all require action on our part.  And that action is things like this: “SEEK ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added unto you.”  “Thou will keep him in perfect peace WHOSE MIND IS STAYED ON THEE.”  “TRUST IN THE LORD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, and lean not to your own understanding.  IN ALL YOUR WAYS ACKNOWLEDGE HIM, and He will direct your paths.”  “CASTING ALL YOUR CARES ON HIM, for He cares for you.

I don’t have adequate time to do this as I’d like to right now.  But you can do that, if you will…search Scripture for all the things God promises, and the words in there that tell what is required of us to get those things.  By the way, in 1 Peter 5:7 – “Casting all your cares on Him, for He cares for you”, have you ever thought about what that meant?  What do you do when you cast your fishing line out?  You throw it out there and then let it go…trusting that the fish will bite.  Casting is throwing it toward God and then trusting Him with it…letting go.  I have a hard time with that one, for sure.

I am thankful for the ways God has been drawing me closer to Him lately.  I’m thankful for the things He shows me.  But I am not fully doing my part right now.  But just know that you can have a truly intimate relationship with God…one that is much more than just spouting off words in prayers to him, or singing songs, or participating in church or in ministries of various sorts.  Even those things can take our focus off of Him and put it on those things we’re doing, if we let them.

Have to go start getting ready for my appointment.  I hope you all have a blessed day. 

Love and blessings,

Anne

 

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Closer

  1. Thank you Anne. I deeply appreciate this post. Do you suppose this is why He gives us His grace?

    Be encouraged!

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you for that response, Stephen, and for your encouragement. I appreciate it very much…and oh yes! God’s amazing grace. How thankful I am for it! 🙂 And as that old song goes, “He’s still workin’ on me.”

Leave a Reply

