Another poetry form I attempted…Rondeau


Another form of poetry to try out, on this sleepless night when I’m still up at an ungodly hour. A Rondeau is a French form of poetry that consists of 15 lines in 3 stanzas…a quintet, a quatrain, and a sestet.  The rhyming form is as follows: aabba, aabR, aabbaR.  The ‘R’ is a refrain, which consists of a phrase from the first line of the poem.  All of the other lines are the same metrical length…8-10 syllables long according to one site I referenced.

So the challenge then, is to find words to use that can be rhymed often enough, and to find a phrase to use that is worth repeating for the refrain.  I did find it a little bit challenging, and then fitting them into the correct number of syllables.  So here goes. 🙂

IF I LIED TO YOU
by Anne Sikes

If I lied to you, would you call me friend?
Would you think I was faithful to the end?
Supposing that you had believed in me…
And that what you would get is what you’d see?
Would your outstretched hand still to me extend?

If ever so often, the truth I’d bend
Upon finding out, could ever we mend?
Could there trust between us, ever then be
If I lied to you?

No, never again, my side you’d attend
On me could you never again depend
Swiftly you’d run from me, then to be free
Leaving me only with your memory
Wishing words I’d spoken, I could amend…
If I lied to you.

 

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Hobbies, Poetry, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Another poetry form I attempted…Rondeau

  1. sulamirela says:

    Very good message 🙂

  2. yellowlancer says:

    I haven’t tried a Rondeau but you’v inspired me to try 🙂

  3. arkenaten says:

    Very clever.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thanks Rebel! 🙂 It actually helped me get tired, focusing on that. I went to sleep shortly after…thankfully!! That was 3:30 A.M or some such nonsense.

  4. Suba says:

    beautiful poem / beautiful rendition of form too!

Leave a Reply

