Argue and Bicker…what’s up?


🙂  Why is it so surprising and notable to people when Christians argue?  Now, I’m not meaning to pick on anyone about this.  But I have noticed that some of my friends like to point it out when we Christians disagree among ourselves.  Why is that so unusual though?  I mean, in families, you argue sometimes among yourselves, but are you not still family?  And really…show me any religion, or any group of people at all who claim to be united in some way, who always see eye to eye on everything.  You show me that group of people and I’ll ask you to point me to their leader.

As for Christianity, the leader of the group is Christ.  But because we mere mortals can be stubborn, and willful, and just for the fact that we still have free will to choose what we think…or want to believe or want to do, we will disagree at times.  It has always been thus, and I imagine will not be changing any time soon.  Yet, the Bible does warn about it…and we are urged to be united and not to bicker and argue.  And at the end of the day, disagreements are not necessarily arguments.  They aren’t arguments unless you turn them into that.

Anyway, just some thoughts to throw out there. 🙂

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Family, Opinions and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Argue and Bicker…what’s up?

  1. Candy S says:

    Proverbs says “Iron sharpens iron…” There is always something we need to learn about ourselves and as we get to know more about each other. In addition to preparing us to interact with those outside our immediate circle….

    • Anne Sikes says:

      That’s very true! Thank you for that reminder too. I hate arguing, which some might not believe since I find myself doing it as often as I do. But you’re right, and I needed that reminder. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

